LibGuides: PHOTOGRAPHY, Jordahl: Getting Started

The Assignment

Understand Your Assignment

Before you begin your research, you should make sure you understand your assignment. Some good questions are:

• How many pages should it be?
• How many sources do I need?
• What kinds of sources? Books,
   articles, websites? Scholarly or
   popular articles?
• In what format should it be
   written? APA? Chicago/Turabian? MLA?

Assignment Calculator

San Jose State's Assignment Calculator is a good resource to help you determine how much time you have to complete various aspects of your research and writing, given your starting date and due date.

Recommended Databases for Biographical & Background Information

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive biographical reference collection in the areas of literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, arts and newsmakers. Contains more than 422,000 biographies on more than 335,000 people from around the world and throughout history. Combines more than 135 frequently consulted biographical databases with nearly 300 full-text periodicals.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a digital reference library containing all types of reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias, and thesauri. Includes the title 100 Ideas that Changed Photography.
Encyclopædia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Nearly 120,000 articles and 14,000 illustrations.

For more sources of background information, visit the A-Z Databases Encyclopedias listing.

Off-Campus Access

For off-campus access to the online databases and eBooks, you'll need your student ID. See our Off-Campus Library Services LibGuide for more information.

You can also renew your books online from home.

Ask Me for Help!

Micaela Agyare

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Foothill College Library

(650) 949-7086

Subjects: Allied Health, Art, Communication Studies, Dental Assisting, Dental Hygiene, Emergency Medical Response, Graphic Design, Kinesiology, Media Studies, Music, Paramedic, Photography, Public Speaking, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Sonography, Theatre, Veterinary Technology