Artstor on JSTOR: Browsing & Searching on JSTOR

Browse images by Collections, Artstor Collections, Classifications, or Geography.   To get started, from the top right-hand corner on the main search page, select Images from the Browse drop-down menu:

:

• Browse by Collections: View all the collections of images from libraries, museums, and archives around the world on JSTOR.
• Browse by Artstor Collections: Explore Artstor's collections of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world. Artstor's diverse collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere. 
• Browse by Classifications: Navigate the breadth and depth of images on JSTOR using 16 different classification terms such as Drawing & Watercolors, Graphic Design & Illustration, Paintings, Photographs, and Sculptures & Installations. Images characterized by more than one term will appear in multiple classification groups.
• Browse by Geography: Explore images by geography. Geographic terms for images may refer to either the location of the work or the nationality of the creator; two terms may be assigned when these criteria differ.                                                                        

To limit your results to images, select the Images tab from the JSTOR main search page:

From here you can search for art by a specific creator (artist), title, subject, or material (medium) by selecting the filter when typing in your search criteria.

For more specific image searching, Advanced Search is available to help narrow your results through more detailed fielded search, Boolean, and filtering options.

Drop-down Field menus are available from the advanced image search page. Use one or more of these to select from the following specific fielded metadata options:

• creator
• title
• subject
• work type
• style or period
• location
• culture
• material

Boolean search drop-down menus can also be used to refine your query. Select from the following operators:  AND, OR, and NOT

In the Narrow Results section of the advanced search page, additionally enter formatted date ranges (either in CE- Current or Common Era or BCE, Before Common Era)

Classification filters are also available for select images from curated groups such as Paintings, Humanities and Social Sciences, Maps, Charts, and Graphs and more.