LibGuides: Foothill Dental Assisting: Articles & Databases

PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Currently provides access to more than 8 million articles in full-text,

Medline Plus

Medline Plus:

Directs the general public to information to help answer health questions.
Brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles.

Databases

You can find thousands of articles in magazines and journals in the library's online databases. The following databases are helpful for this subject.

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with especially strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Features abstracts and indexing for an additional 850 journals.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
This authoritative database provides full text, cover-to-cover indexing for journals indexed in MEDLINE. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books. View this short tutorial on How to Find Peer-Reviewed Articles in ScienceDirect College Edition

Dental Periodicals (journals & magazines)

The following periodicals are available online via the library databases:

The library provides access to more than 200 dentistry periodicals in full-text. Browse these periodicals by subject: