Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition, 5-Volume Set
Occupational Outlook Handbook by 
EBSCO E-Books provides over 150,000 multi-disciplinary academic eBooks, including hundreds on careers in various fields. To access EBSCO E-Books, scroll down to the OneSearch box, and click on Find Books. When you do, a link to EBSCO E-Books will appear under the search box. Use the following search terms to browse the following topics:
Careers in Artificial Intelligence by
Artificial intelligence (AI) is all around us, from music choices to electronics to healthcare. AI refers to machines that are programmed to think and act like humans. Examples of AI include Pandora personalized song lists, robotic vacuum cleaners and self-driving vehicles. Many industries offer careers in AI, including financial services, technology, marketing, agriculture, gaming, and retail. As the need for technology and its problem-solving abilities continues to grow, so does the need for highly-skilled individuals to work in this sector. Careers in Artificial Intelligence provides detailed information and need-to-know information on various careers in artificial intelligence. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Careers in Biology by
Biology is the natural science that studies life and living organisms. A career in biology can mean the study of evolution, the study of health and disease, the study of the preservation of the natural environment, the study of pollen, or the study of animal behavior, to name a few. Biologists can work in a classroom, in a laboratory, on a farm, or under the ocean, so someone who is interested in a career in this field has many options to choose from.
Careers in Business by
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Business Administration explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning about the many career opportunities available for those who want to pursue a career in business.
Careers in Chemistry by
Careers in Chemistry contains over 20 profiles of branches or fields of chemistry such as Agricultural Chemistry, Cosmetics Chemistry, Food Chemistry, and Forensic Science. It also contains over 20 corresponding occupational profiles that highlight a particular career within that branch or field (for example, a perfume chemist for Cosmetics Chemistry). All essays are written by authors with expertise in science or a related field.
Careers in Engineering by
Broadly speaking, engineers design and build machines, structures, and systems. Its four main branches are chemical engineering, civil engineering, electrical engineering, and mechanical engineering. Other significant branches include aerospace engineering, marine engineering, and computer engineering, so students with a career in engineering in mind have a lot to consider when choosing their career path.
Careers in Environment and Conservation by
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Environment & Conservation explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning about the many career opportunities available for those who want to pursue a career in environmental science or conservation.
Careers in Human Services by
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Human Services explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available and to help those make a better-informed decisions when selecting a career path or field of study.
Careers in Physics by
the first title in the series contains over 20 profiles of branches or fields of physics such as Astrophysics, Civil Engineering, Cryogenics and Quantum Physics and over 20 corresponding occupational profiles that highlight a particular career within that branch or field. All essays are written by authors with expertise in science or a related field.
Careers in Sports & Fitness by
This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.
Careers in the Music Industry by
A musician might start by playing guitar in their teenaged bedroom, but the machinery behind their career is significant. Songwriters, composers, singers, all levels of musicians, and conductors train with individual teachers and often attend arts and music schools. Performance spaces managers and booking agents, sound engineers, promoters, and traveling crews are all crucial in bringing live performances to their audiences. On the business side, talent and business managers guide careers, and entertainment attorneys review contracts. The evolving recording business hosts a variety of careers as vinyl recording reemerge, and streaming platforms take the place of live performances due to the pandemic. Musicians in recording and digital media can also work on a range of projects such as recording radio and TV commercials or video game and film scores. Career options in the music industry are more varied than ever before, and technology just expands the field.
Careers Working with Animals by
Options for those interested in working with animals range from positions with no formal requirements--dog walkers, pet sitters, and pet groomers--to veterinarians and zoologists with advanced degrees. The veterinary field offers a wide range of opportunities, from veterinary assistant or technician, to veterinarians with years of training. Animal specialists include trainers responsible for preparing animals for stage and film, and animals that provide special care to the disabled. Animal shelters and animal rescue organizations are other ways to work with animals. Just some of the many careers examined in this volume include: - Animal Control Workers - Animal Trainer - Farmer & Rancher - Park Manager - Pet Groomers - Pet Sitters & Dog Walkers - Veterinarian - Wildlife Biologists - Zoologist. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
