Skip to main content

ENGL 1T, Fong: Find Sources

A guide to library resources for your English 1T class. Students, the teacher, and librarians will co-create it, so it will evolve over the quarter!

How to Find Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books, eBooks, and periodicals. You can search by

  • Everything (this will search all fields)
  • Author
  • Title
  • Subject
  • Periodical (Journal) Title

Once you click on a book's title, you'll see the following information:

Catalog Record

  • Call Number Record shows the basic information about the book, as well as the call number and whether the book is checked out.
  • A Look Inside might show a summary, the table of contents, and/or reviews of the book.
  • The Catalog Record provides all the details you will need to cite the book, plus the book's subject headings, which are clickable links and may give you ideas for other searches to try.

Books that are available to be checked out are located in the stacks (the bookshelves in the Quiet Study Area). Ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.

How to Find Articles

Magazine covers

You can find thousands of articles in magazines and journals in the library's databases. What is a database? A collection of the online versions of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles that can be searched and accessed online.

Foothill Databases by Subject

Look under the appropriate subject category or click on one of the multi-disciplinary databases like Academic OneFile or Academic Search Premier. Enter keywords for your topic in the search box, choose the articles that look best,  and then download or email them to yourself.

Off-Campus Access

For off-campus access to the online databases, journals, and eBooks, you'll need your student ID.