Black's Medical Dictionary by
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.
Dental Care and Oral Health Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about dental hygiene, preventive care, and oral health concerns for children and adults, with facts about surgical, orthodontic, and cosmetic dental procedures, and diseases of the mouth and jaw. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--
Lippincott Williams and Wilkins' Dental Drug Reference by
Written for dental professionals, the Second Edition of Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Dental Drug Reference quickly resolves questions and concerns that arise during patient consults, helping you design appropriate and safe oral health care treatment plans. It focuses on drugs that you're likely to encounter reviewing a patient's medical history as well as drugs that are prescribed for the management of orodental pain, oral infections, and common mucocutaneous conditions. A bonus CD-ROM offers all drug monographs from the handbook in an easy-to-use, searchable format plus printable monographs for inclusion in patient charts. You'll also find an image bank with full-color photographs to help you identify adverse drug effects and oral conditions.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by
An essential dental resource that goes beyond education! Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 4th Edition is the must-have, pocket-sized reference covering all areas of dentistry that's designed for both students and practitioners. This new edition defines over 10,000 terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, including materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more. Throughout the text, over 300 illustrations address new innovations, research, technology, and products in the field, and extensive appendices provide quick access to the information you will use every day. Plus, a free companion website contains more than 5,000 audio pronunciations, 500 additional images, videos, and animations to help illustrate key concepts. Portable size offers convenience as a chair-side or computer-side reference. Companion website includes over 5,000 audio pronunciations, an expanded image collection, and videos and animations. Bolded pronunciations indicate terms that may be heard on the companion website. Practical appendices (in print and online) provide a reference to abbreviations, clinical oral structures, anesthesia color codes, implants, and more. Colored thumb tabs make it easy to locate definitions quickly. NEW! Terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, include materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more! NEW! Artwork, includes photos of the latest equipment, clinical techniques and modern illustrations to bring key concepts to life. NEW! Expanded audio pronunciations on the companion website ensures you're using the correct pronunciations of complex terms. NEW! Who's-who of dentistry Editorial Board features expert editor Margaret Fehrenbach - Dental Hygienist, Oral Biologist, Educational Consultant, Dental Science Writer, and Dental Hygiene Instructor.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608
Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611
Use OneSearch to find books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Make sure you sign-in with your CWID to get the best user experience. To search for books in the library's print collection, choose "Library Catalog" from the drop-down menu as shown below:
Once you click on a book's title from the list of search results, you'll see the following information:
Books that are available to be checked out are located in the STACKS. Ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.
Some subject headings that might be useful for you are:
Dental Assistants
Dental Pharmacology
Infection Control
Periodontics
You can use the Advanced Search option in OneSearch if you want to do a more specific search. Click on Advanced Search to the right of the search box (as shown below circled in yellow):
Using the advanced search, you can search by any combination of keyword, author, title, or subject. You also have the option to limit by material type (such as book, e-book, video, etc.), language, date and more.
You can also use the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT to narrow or broaden your search.
Dental Assisting Instrument Guide, Spiral Bound Version by 
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by 
Lippincott Williams and Wilkins' Comprehensive Dental Assisting by 
