Skip to main content

Communications: Informative Speeches: Article & Video databases

CQ Researcher

Librarians recommend using CQ Researcher database when students are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. This database is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Use the BROWSE feature to help you select a topic for research.

Contact a Librarian if you need more help!

Major US Newspapers

As a De Anza student, you get free online access to the New York Times and Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune from about 1985 to present. 

Search the Proquest National Newspapers Core (aka US Major Dailies) library article database to find articles from these five most respected US national and regional newspapers:

Search this newspaper database

Note: From off campus, you will be asked for your Student ID # and password.

Academic Search Complete

  • Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
  • This database allows you to search for more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals
  • TIP: Use the Advanced search feature
  • EXAMPLE:

Proquest Research Library

  • ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals.
  • Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. 

Contact a Librarian if you need more help!