LibGuides: VT 51: Introduction to Veterinary Technology: Periodical Review Project Resources

Recommended Scholarly Journals (Available Online)

Clinician's Brief: Journal for small animal veterinarians, providing essential tips for diagnosis and treatment in a brief and concise format. For scholarly, peer reviewed articles, look for articles tagged with "peer reviewed." Free registration required to access full-text.

linician's Brief, the leading journal for small animal veterinarians, provides essential tips for diagnosis and treatment in a brief and concise forma

The NAVTA Journal: the official publication of the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA). Requires student membership.
Today's Veterinary Nurse: An official, peer-reviewed journal of the North American Veterinary Community (NAVC). For scholarly, peer reviewed articles, look for articles tagged with "peer reviewed."

Today's Veterinary Practice: an official journal of the North American Veterinary Community (NAVC) providing practical, educational articles that include both standard-of-care and cutting-edge clinical information for the companion animal veterinary practitioner. For scholarly, peer reviewed articles, look for articles tagged with "peer reviewed."

Veterinary Clinics of North American. Small Animal Practice: publishes review articles on the latest advances in small animal care, focusing on topics like endocrinology, infectious diseases, neurology, oncology, and more. A review article is a peer reviewed article synthesizing existing research on a specific topic, providing a comprehensive summary, analysis, and evaluation of relevant literature. It identifies trends, highlights gaps, and suggests future research directions, helping readers stay informed without reviewing individual studies. Look for articles tagged with "Review Article."
(login using student ID and password)

Veterinary Periodicals in Print

Foothill Library has print editions of these journals. A librarian can assist you in finding the material you need.

California Veterinarian
The magazine of the California Veterinary Medical Association providing association news and articles on topics like continuing education programs, regulatory compliance, legislative updates, practice safety, RVT news, student news, science, public health concerns, and news from the veterinary schools at UC Davis and Western University.
Journal Of the American Animal Hospital Association
JAAHA is a peer-reviewed publication, with a target audience of veterinarians in clinical practice and their practice team members pertaining to the practice of small animal medicine and surgery. Index searchable at http://www.jaaha.org
Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
Journal of the American Veterinary Association is a peer reviewed journal, indexed through Academic Search Premier, PubMed and at: http://avmajournals.avma.org

Using Library Databases to Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

Veterinary Source This link opens in a new window
NEW! A collection of full-text scholarly journals and magazines devoted to all aspects of animal healthcare including animal pathology and parasitology, veterinary medicinal care and practices, anatomy and physiology, small and large animal care, nutrition, diagnosis, and animal reproduction and breeding.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books, including more than 300 titles in veterinary science and veterinary medicine. View the tutorial below on how to find peer-reviewed articles: