Locating Primary Sources at Foothill Library - Primary Sources – United States and California History

Finding Primary Sources in Books at Foothill Library

Conducting a "subject search" in the Library Catalog using certain terms will steer your search to primary source material. Use the terms alone to retrieve primary sources on a variety of subjects, or with topical terms to find primary sources on a specific subject.

sources
diaries
interviews
personal narratives
correspondence
notebooks
posters
archives
maps
manuscripts

Conduct a Search for a Primary Source in the Library Catalog

To conduct a search for primary sources in the Library Catalog, use the search box below.

Type in one of the search terms or phrases listed above, such as "Personal Narratives," and click on "Search." The search for "personal narratives" will result in over 350 books. Search for two search terms or phrases, such as "Personal Narratives" and "United States Civil War." This search will result about 15 titles, including the three books pictured below.

Cover Cover Cover

Some search results will be in e-book format, where contents of the book can be viewed directly from the Library Catalog.

Also try these searches through the "EBooks" link on the library homepage.

Finding Primary Sources in Foothill Library Databases

Find Primary Resources using Online Databases at Foothill Library.

The databases below are comprehensive collections containing full text periodicals, scholarly works, reference books and primary resource documents. Each search result highlights different types of resources found including primary sources. For a complete list of databases and electronic resources see A-Z List of Online Databases and Online Resources

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
With more than 63 million full-text articles, including those from more than 1,210 newspapers, more than 130 newswires, and nearly 50 news magazines,this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major newspaper content. Videos and podcasts are coming soon.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers background information on topics from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference/encyclopedia titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
JSTOR (including Artstor Collections) This link opens in a new window
A digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.

Additionally, a rich digital library containing collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. Artstor includes more than 500,000 images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture.
Artstor (moving to JSTOR 8/1/24) This link opens in a new window
A rich digital library containing collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. Artstor includes more than 500,000 images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive biographical reference collection in the areas of literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, arts and newsmakers. Contains more than 422,000 biographies on more than 335,000 people from around the world and throughout history. Combines more than 135 frequently consulted biographical databases with nearly 300 full-text periodicals.

EBSCO Discovery Service

One search — many resources! EBSCO Discovery Service allows you to search not only our full collection of EBSCO databases, but the complete library catalog, eBook collections, and many other database collections as well.

Primary Sources – United States and California History: Locating Primary Sources at Foothill Library

Finding Primary Sources in Books at Foothill Library

Conduct a Search for a Primary Source in the Library Catalog

Finding Primary Sources in Foothill Library Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service