Skip to main content

ENGL 1T, Fernandez: Find Articles

Intended for students in Hilda Fernandez's ENGL 1T class studying slavery and environmental justice.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Sometimes an instructor will suggest you use peer-reviewed or scholarly articles. What are they talking about? In contrast to popular magazines like Time and People, academic and professional journals are written by and for experts in a specific subject. Examples are The New England Journal of Medicine and American Historical Review. A peer-reviewed article is one that has has been evaluated by a panel of experts before being accepted for publication.

The library's databases offer you an option to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals.

Limit to peer-reviewed box

Off-Campus Access

For off-campus access to the online databases and eBooks, you'll need your student ID number and portal password. Make sure you are accessing the databases directly from the library website. 

Search in Library Databases

Magazine covers

You can find thousands of articles in magazines and journals in the library's databases. Look under the appropriate subject category or click on one of the multi-disciplinary databases like Academic OneFile or Academic Search Premier. If you are off campus, you will see a login page prompting you to enter your student ID. Once you are in the database, you can search for articles  and then download or email them to yourself. For more help, ask a librarian.

A Few Possibilities ...

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

If you come up short in the library's databases, you might try searching Google Scholar. Most articles are not available full text, but it is possible to link to Foothill's collection. Go to Scholar Preferences in the upper right-hand corner of the Google Scholar site and make sure Foothill College is selected under library links.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search