LibGuides: Foothill Veterinary Technology: Articles & Databases

Veterinary Periodicals in Print

Foothill Library has print editions of these journals. A librarian can assist you in finding the material you need.

California Veterinarian
The magazine of the California Veterinary Medical Association providing association news and articles on topics like continuing education programs, regulatory compliance, legislative updates, practice safety, RVT news, student news, science, public health concerns, and news from the veterinary schools at UC Davis and Western University.
Journal Of the American Animal Hospital Association
JAAHA is a peer-reviewed publication, with a target audience of veterinarians in clinical practice and their practice team members pertaining to the practice of small animal medicine and surgery. Index searchable at http://www.jaaha.org
Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
Journal of the American Veterinary Association is a peer reviewed journal, indexed through Academic Search Premier, PubMed and at: http://avmajournals.avma.org

Recommended Veterinary Journals Online

Clinician's Brief
(free registration required to access full-text)
The NAVTA Journal
(requires student membership)
Today’s Veterinary Nurse
Today’s Veterinary Practice
Veterinary Clinics of North American. Small Animal Practice
(login using student ID and password)
The Veterinary Journal
An open Access journal formerly known as the British Veterinary Journal

Databases

You can find thousands of articles in magazines and journals in the library's online databases. The following databases are helpful for this subject.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Offers access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers background information on topics from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference/encyclopedia titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with especially strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Features abstracts and indexing for an additional 850 journals.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books. View this short tutorial on How to Find Peer-Reviewed Articles in ScienceDirect College Edition
Veterinary Source This link opens in a new window
NEW! A collection of full-text scholarly journals and magazines devoted to all aspects of animal healthcare including animal pathology and parasitology, veterinary medicinal care and practices, anatomy and physiology, small and large animal care, nutrition, diagnosis, and animal reproduction and breeding.