Black's Medical Dictionary by
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.
Dental Care and Oral Health Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about dental hygiene, preventive care, and oral health concerns for children and adults, with facts about surgical, orthodontic, and cosmetic dental procedures, and diseases of the mouth and jaw. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--
Lippincott Williams and Wilkins' Dental Drug Reference by
Written for dental professionals, the Second Edition of Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Dental Drug Reference quickly resolves questions and concerns that arise during patient consults, helping you design appropriate and safe oral health care treatment plans. It focuses on drugs that you're likely to encounter reviewing a patient's medical history as well as drugs that are prescribed for the management of orodental pain, oral infections, and common mucocutaneous conditions. A bonus CD-ROM offers all drug monographs from the handbook in an easy-to-use, searchable format plus printable monographs for inclusion in patient charts. You'll also find an image bank with full-color photographs to help you identify adverse drug effects and oral conditions.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by
An essential dental resource that goes beyond education! Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 4th Edition is the must-have, pocket-sized reference covering all areas of dentistry that's designed for both students and practitioners. This new edition defines over 10,000 terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, including materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more. Throughout the text, over 300 illustrations address new innovations, research, technology, and products in the field, and extensive appendices provide quick access to the information you will use every day. Plus, a free companion website contains more than 5,000 audio pronunciations, 500 additional images, videos, and animations to help illustrate key concepts. Portable size offers convenience as a chair-side or computer-side reference. Companion website includes over 5,000 audio pronunciations, an expanded image collection, and videos and animations. Bolded pronunciations indicate terms that may be heard on the companion website. Practical appendices (in print and online) provide a reference to abbreviations, clinical oral structures, anesthesia color codes, implants, and more. Colored thumb tabs make it easy to locate definitions quickly. NEW! Terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, include materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more! NEW! Artwork, includes photos of the latest equipment, clinical techniques and modern illustrations to bring key concepts to life. NEW! Expanded audio pronunciations on the companion website ensures you're using the correct pronunciations of complex terms. NEW! Who's-who of dentistry Editorial Board features expert editor Margaret Fehrenbach - Dental Hygienist, Oral Biologist, Educational Consultant, Dental Science Writer, and Dental Hygiene Instructor.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608
Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611
Use OneSearch to find books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Make sure you sign-in with your CWID to get the best user experience. To search for books in the library's print collection, choose "Library Catalog" from the drop-down menu as shown below:
Once you click on a book's title from the list of search results, you'll see the following information:
Books that are available to be checked out are located in the STACKS. Ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.
Some subject headings that might be useful for you are:
Dental Hygiene
Dental Hygienists
Dental Pharmacology
Infection Control
Periodontics
You can use the Advanced Search option in OneSearch if you want to do a more specific search. Click on Advanced Search to the right of the search box (as shown below circled in yellow):
Using the advanced search, you can search by any combination of keyword, author, title, or subject. You also have the option to limit by material type (such as book, e-book, video, etc.), language, date and more.
You can also use the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT to narrow or broaden your search.
CDT 2020 Coding Companion by
CDT 2020: Coding Companion: Training Guide for the Dental Team helps staff understand the complexities of dental procedure codes and gain the skills to code more accurately and efficiently. A self-guided training tool, it provides hundreds of scenarios and Q&A, based on inquiries the ADA has received from dentists and their teams. Ideal for use with CDT 2020, the Coding Companion helps increase coding knowledge and is a great resource for new and experienced team members. CDT 2020 Coding Companion has been updated to reflect all 2020 code changes. Includes full color images and diagrams in a spiral bound format, plus access to the online e-Book. 100 coding scenarios. 175 coding Q & A. Organized by coding category. Definitions and key concepts. Descriptions of coding changes. Section on ICD-10-CM Diagnosis Codes.
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by
Comprehensive coverage of the theoretical principles and practical skills needed to perform radiographic exams competently and safely This clear, up-to-date, reader-friendly text tightly links oral radiology principles with modern practice. It presents all of the necessary information for introductory courses in dental radiography, prepares students for board and licensing examinations, and offers real-world resources for clinical practice and patient management. The book's nine sections take readers from radiation basics and the fundamentals of dental radiographic techniques, to management of special needs and an introduction to alternate imaging modalities. The Tenth Edition of Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists retains core fundamentals presented in earlier editions that focus on an in-depth study of key principles, while expanding and incorporating new concepts that reflect the body of knowledge and evidence-based practice advances that influence the prescription, delivery, and evaluation of radiographic examinations.
Guidelines for Practice Success: Managing Professional Risks by
Managing risks in a dental practice is something that practitioners do every day, whether they are aware of it or not. Developed by leaders in the field of dental practice management, these guidelines are based on time-tested best practices of risk management to help dentists protect themselves and their practices. Covers: managing professional risks from a clinical standpoint; dealing with patient records; charting and documentation in a secure way; how to find a legal advisor; discussing the dental team's role in risk management; transitions and other changes.
How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making by
This book is a one-stop resource for learning how to harness the power of the latest scientific information and optimize patient care. How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Your Clinical Decision-Making is the definitive resource for dental students and practitioners who want to learn from leaders in the field of evidence-based dentistry (EBD); quickly conduct searches for the latest research; master the skill of critically appraising clinical studies; confidently apply the latest research to patient care; teach others how to inform their practice with the latest clinical evidence; and access everything they need to become an EBD all-star. The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry oversaw the development of this publication. Dental teams and educators alike will find it a useful resource for incorporating the most up-to-date scientific evidence in clinical decisions and instilling others with the curious mindset needed to provide evidence-based health care. Includes link to e-book.
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by
Get the thorough understanding of head and neck anatomy needed to perform dental examinations and procedures! Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck, 6th Edition provides complete coverage of oral biology and anatomy, with special emphasis on the anatomy of the temporomandibular joint (TMJ). Chapters are organized by body systems, and include coverage of the administration of local anesthesia and the spread of dental infection. Detailed images and a focus on clinical considerations make it easier to apply concepts to everyday dental practice. Written by noted educators Margaret J. Fehrenbach and Susan W. Herring, this book prepares you for success on certification exams and as a dental professional. Comprehensive, easy-to-understand coverage provides a solid foundation in head and neck anatomy with in-depth discussion of the TMJ, the spread of infection, and the anatomy of local anesthesia. About 400 full-color images include detailed and clearly labeled anatomic illustrations, skull photographs, and clinical images. Full-color format includes a clear depiction of the oral cavity and related gross anatomy. Key terminology is highlighted within the text and defined in a handy, back-of-book glossary. Expert authors Margaret J. Fehrenbach and Susan W. Herring provide knowledge that is useful in both classroom and clinical settings. Learning resources on the Evolve companion website reinforce your understanding with review questions and quizzes. NEW! Evidence-based research covers brain tissue layers and local anesthesia target areas. NEW! Coverage of the underlying relationship to patient systemic and oral conditions includes topics such as strokes, fractures, serious dental infections, and facial paralysis. NEW! Imaging techniques are updated with the latest protocols and guidelines. NEW! Clinical Considerations link more of the content to practical application. NEW! Easier-to-use pronunciation guide and updated structure mapping are tied to chapter objectives and to the CDA and NBDHE test blueprints. NEW! Student workbook reinforces learning with a wealth of practice opportunities such as review questions, identification exercises, case studies, and flash cards. Available separately.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
Be prepared to prevent, recognize, and manage life-threatening medical emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 8th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage health issues in the dental office or clinic. It describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively, and details the resources that must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. Written by noted dentistry educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert text includes the latest guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. An enhanced eBook is included with new print purchases, featuring a complete, fully searchable version of the text, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and much more - available on a variety of devices. Logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, allergic reactions, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, sequential instructions for stabilizing and treating patients (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques with realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. An enhanced eBook version is included with each new print purchase, featuring a fully searchable version of the text, an image collection, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and more! UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's algorithm for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym (PCABD): Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Microinvasive Dentistry by
Tooth decay, also known as dental caries or cavities, is a breakdown of teeth due to acids made by bacteria. The cavities may be a number of different colours from yellow to black. Symptoms may include pain and difficulty with eating. Microinvasive techniques involve preparing the tooth surface with an acid and then either placing a seal on top of the surface or 'infiltrating' the softer demineralised tissue with resins. These newer methods work by installing a barrier either on the tooth surface or within the demineralised tissue to protect it against acids and avoid the further loss of minerals from within the tooth, thus helping to stop the decay. This book is a comprehensive guide to techniques, technologies and tools used in microinvasive dentistry. Divided into four sections, the text begins with an overview of caries and its prevention. The following sections provide in depth discussion on diagnosis through various imaging devices, then different treatment options and technologies. The final section covers future developments including enamel regeneration and photobiomodulation. Authored by an internationally recognised, New Jersey-based expert in the field, the book is further enhanced by clinical photographs, diagrams and tables. Key points Comprehensive guide to microinvasive techniques and technologies for diagnosis and management of dental caries Covers diagnostic imaging devices and numerous treatment options Authored by highly experienced, New Jersey-based expert in the field Includes clinical photographs, diagrams and tables
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology by
From basic science and fundamental procedures to the latest advanced techniques in reconstructive, esthetic, and implant therapy, Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, 13th Edition is the resource you can count on to help master the most current information and techniques in periodontology. Full color photos, illustrations, radiographs and videos show you how to perform periodontal procedures, while renowned experts from across the globe explain the evidence supporting each treatment and lend their knowledge on how to best manage the outcomes. UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers a versatile print and digital resources that help bring text information to life. UNIQUE! Bonus content on Expert Consult includes multiple-choice self-assessment questions with instant feedback, chapter review PowerPoint slides, videos clips, case studies, and more. UNIQUE! Periodontal Pathology Atlas contains the most comprehensive collection of cases found anywhere. Full-color photos and anatomical drawings clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce important principles. UNIQUE! Chapter opener boxes in the print book alert readers when more comprehensive coverage of topics is available in the online version of the text. NEW! Chapters updated to meet the current exam requirements for the essentials in periodontal education. NEW! Case-based clinical scenarios incorporated throughout the book mimic the new patient case format used in credentialing exams. NEW! Additional tables, boxes, and graphics highlight need-to-know information. NEW! Virtual microscope on Expert Consult offers easy access to high-resolution views of select pathology images. NEW! Two new chapters cover periimplantitis and resolving inflammation. NEW! Section on evidence-based practice consists of two chapters covering evidence-based decision making and critical thinking.
Teeth by
'Show me your teeth', the great naturalist George Cuvier is credited with saying, 'and I will tell you who you are'. In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society. Teeth takes readers on a disturbing journey into the role teeth play in our health and our social mobility. Muckraking and paradigm-shifting, Teeth exposes for the first time the extent and meaning of our oral health crisis.
Wilkens' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, Navigate 2 TestPrep, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Staying true to Esther Wilkins' pioneering vision that made her best-selling text the "Bible" for dental hygienists, Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Thirteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd and Charlotte Wyche, and new co-author Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Thirteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth necessary not only for foundation courses but for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.
