For off-campus access to the online databases and eBooks, you'll need your student ID number and portal password. Make sure you are accessing the databases directly from the library website.
To read EBSCO e-Books on your computer, check the Recommended Browser Settings. For users with Internet Explorer versions 9.0 or older, please see the Adobe Acrobat Reader Browser Requirements and settings for all supported browsers, available here.
Please contact librarian Pawel Szponar at (650) 949-7609 or szponarpaul@foothill.edu if you have questions.
When you have your own copy of a book in print, it's easy to take notes as you read, but what if you're reading an eBook? Check out our new tutorial to learn how to annotate an EBSCO ebook!
An electronic book (also e-book, ebook, digital book)
is a text- and image-based publication in digital form readable on computers. The Oxford Dictionary of English defines the e-book as "an electronic version of a printed book," but eBooks can exist without any printed equivalent.
The Foothill College Library has over 200,000 multi-disciplinary academic eBooks, many of which are downloadable to a tablet or e-reader. The best way to find our eBooks is to go to the library home page, scroll down to the OneSearch box, and click on Find Books. When you do, a link to EBSCO E-Books will appear under the search box.
Please note that Adobe Digital Editions must be installed on your computer to read downloaded e-books.
Click on the Help button in the eBooks platform for additional information.
Looking for eBooks on business, computers, or graphic design? O'Reilly Safari offers the premier digital library with over 42,000 business and tech eBooks. Look for the link on the library home page under Featured Databases.
For help with searching, using O'Reilly Safari on your mobile device, and other features, visit the Support Center.
The Chinese and the Iron Road by
The completion of the transcontinental railroad in May 1869 is usually told as a story of national triumph and a key moment for American Manifest Destiny. The Railroad made it possible to cross the country in a matter of days instead of months, paved the way for new settlers to come out west, and helped speed America's entry onto the world stage as a modern nation that spanned a full continent. It also created vast wealth for its four owners, including the fortune with which Leland Stanford would found Stanford University some two decades later. But while the Transcontinental has often been celebrated in national memory, little attention has been paid to the Chinese workers who made up 90 percent of the workforce on the Western portion of the line. The Railroad could not have been built without Chinese labor, but the lives of Chinese railroad workers themselves have been little understood and largely invisible. This landmark volume explores the experiences of Chinese railroad workers and their place in cultural memory. The Chinese and the Iron Road illuminates more fully than ever before the interconnected economies of China and the US, how immigration across the Pacific changed both nations, the dynamics of the racism the workers encountered, the conditions under which they labored, and their role in shaping both the history of the railroad and the development of the American West.
Economics for People and the Planet: Inequality in the Era of Climate Change by
'Economics for People and the Planet' brings together recent essays by James K. Boyce on the environment, inequality, and the economy. Part One, Rethinking Economics and the Environment, challenges some common assumptions, including the beliefs that economic growth is incompatible with environmental sustainability, capitalist firms single-mindedly pursue profits, and human beings are inherently bad for nature. Part Two, Environmental Injustice, opens with the author's 2017 Leontief Prize lecture, and discusses how inequalities in the distribution of wealth and power shape both the distribution of environmental harm and the magnitude of environmental degradation. Part Three, The Political Economy of Climate Policy, addresses the pre-eminent environmental challenge of our time, highlighting how progressive climate policies not only can benefit future generations worldwide but also can improve health and economic well-being today in the countries adopting them.
HBR Guide to Making Better Decisions by
Learn how to make better; faster decisions. You make decisions every day--from prioritizing your to-do list to choosing which long-term innovation projects to pursue. But most decisions don't have a clear-cut answer, and assessing the alternatives and the risks involved can be overwhelming. You need a smarter approach to making the best choice possible. The HBR Guide to Making Better Decisions provides practical tips and advice to help you generate more-creative ideas, evaluate your alternatives fairly, and make the final call with confidence. You'll learn how to: Overcome the cognitive biases that can skew your thinking Look at problems in new ways Manage the trade-offs between options Balance data with your own judgment React appropriately when you've made a bad choice Communicate your decision--and overcome any resistance Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, from a source you trust. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
LGBTQ Fiction and Poetry from Appalachia by
This collection, the first of its kind, gathers original and previously published fiction and poetry from lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer authors from Appalachia. Like much Appalachian literature, these works are pervaded with an attachment to family and the mountain landscape, yet balancing queer and Appalachian identities is an undertaking fraught with conflict. This collection confronts the problematic and complex intersections of place, family, sexuality, gender, and religion with which LGBTQ Appalachians often grapple. With works by established writers such as Dorothy Allison, Silas House, Ann Pancake, Fenton Johnson, and Nickole Brown and emerging writers such as Savannah Sipple, Rahul Mehta, Mesha Maren, and Jonathan Corcoran, this collection celebrates a literary canon made up of writers who give voice to what it means to be Appalachian and LGBTQ.
Talking Back, Talking Black: Truths about America's Lingua Franca by
"Superb.” --Steven Pinker "InTalking Back, Talking Black, John McWhorter, the maestro at communicating linguistics to the public, succeeds in helping the reader to 'actually hear Black English in a new way,’ while hipping linguists to some features of this vibrant variety they might not have considered before.” --John R. Rickford, former president of the Linguistic Society of America and coauthor ofSpoken Soul: The Story of Black English "McWhorter debunks some of our most persistent myths about language.” --NPR "McWhorter makes all the right arguments, and he makes them clearly.” --New Yorker "Do you think Black English is a 'dialect’ full of 'mistakes’? You’re likely to change your mind about its 'languageness’ after reading Mr. McWhorter.” --Wall Street Journal It has now been almost fifty years since linguistic experts began studying Black English as a legitimate speech variety, arguing to the public that it is different from Standard English, not a degradation of it. Yet false assumptions and controversies still swirl around what it means to speak and sound "black.” In his first book devoted solely to the form, structure, and development of Black English, John McWhorter clearly explains its fundamentals and rich history, while carefully examining the cultural, educational, and political issues that have undermined recognition of this transformative, empowering dialect.Talking Back, Talking Black takes us on a fascinating tour of a nuanced and complex language that has moved beyond America’s borders to become a dynamic force for today’s youth culture around the world. John McWhorter teaches linguistics, Western civilization, music history, and American studies at Columbia University. ANew York Times best-selling author and TED speaker, he is a columnist forTime and regular contributor to theAtlantic,Wall Street Journal, andWashington Post. His books on language includeThe Power of Babel,Our Magnificent Bastard Tongue,What Language Is,The Language Hoax, andWords on the Move.