LibGuides: Statistics for Research Work: Books

Contact Us

Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608

Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611

Search Library Catalog (by Subject)

E-Books from EBSCO

How Numbers Rule the World by Fioramonti
ISBN: 9781780322681
Publication Date: 2014-02-04
In How Numbers Rule the World Lorenzo Fioramonti reveals the hidden agendas underpinning the use of statistics and those who control them.
World Statistics Pocketbook 2013 by United Nations: Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Statistics Division
ISBN: 9211615704
Publication Date: 2013-05-23
Prepared by the United Nations Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs, over 50 indicators have been collected from more than 20 international statistical sources and are presented in one-page profiles for 216 countries or areas of the world. This issue covers various years from 2005 to 2012.
World Economic Historical Statistics by Carlos Sabillon
ISBN: 9780875863535
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Here the economic statistics of the world are presented in a rationalized format that allows for an easy comparison across countries and through time. Part One analyzes the most relevant ideas and theories that have been considered as causal variables of economic growth. It summarizes these ideas pedagogically and tests them against the historical data. Part Two presents a collection of statistics illustrating the development of the world economy during the last centuries. T

How to Find Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books, E-Books, and periodicals. You can search by keyword ("everything"), author, title, or subject heading. The results list will give you basic information about each item, including availability. To find out more, click on Details.

Three tabs provide different kinds of information. A Look Inside might show a summary, the table of contents, and/or reviews of the book. The Catalog Record provides all the details you will need for a citation plus the book's subject headings, which are clickable links and may give you ideas for other searches to try. Some keywords that might be useful for you to search:

Almanacs
Directories
Encyclopedia
Book of facts
Handbooks
Statistics- Social Aspects
Probabilites - Social Aspects
Social Problems - Statistical methods
Demographic

Adding the word statistics to your keyword search may give you more targeted results. For example entering (accidents in the united states statistics) displays as a result The injury fact book / Susan P. Baker, Brian O'Neill, Ronald Karpf.

Books that are available to be checked out are located in the stacks (the bookshelves in the Quiet Study Area). Ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.

E-BOOKS

Besides the E-Books in the general catalog described above, there is a separate selection of E-Books from EBSCO which can be found using the E-Books tab on the main library page. Similar keywords as used above may be useful.

Circulating Books

Damned Lies and Statistics - Untangling Numbers from the Media, Politicians and Activists by Joel Best
ISBN: 0520219783
Publication Date: 2001-05-08
This book is a lively guide to spotting bad statistics and learning to think critically about these influential numbers.
Handbook of U. S. Labor Statistics by Mary Meghan Ryan
ISBN: 9781598883312
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment Earnings, Prices, Productivity and Other Related Data. The Handbook provides detailed and authoritative data on employment, earnings, prices, productivity, occupational safety and health, foreign labor force statistics, and other related topics.
Numbers Rule Your World by Kaiser Fung
ISBN: 9780071626538
Publication Date: 2010-01-25
In the popular tradition of eye-opening bestsellers like Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Super Crunchers, this fascinating book from renowned statistician and blogger Kaiser Fung takes you inside the hidden world of facts and figures that affect you every day, in every way.
Vital Statistics of the United States by Mary Meghan Ryan
ISBN: 9781598882964
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This volume includes both current and historical statistics and, when appropriate, details by state and metropolitan area and comparisons to foreign countries.

Reference Books

Guide to Economic Indicators by Economist Publications Staff; Richard Stutely; Timothy L. Templeton
ISBN: 1576601455
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The keys to understanding all the major and many lesser economic indicators: what they are, the areas they cover, their reliability, and how and why to interpret them.
OECD Factbook 2008 by Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Staff (Created by)
ISBN: 9789264040540
Publication Date: 2008-05-05
More than 100 indicators cover a wide range of areas: economy, agriculture, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health and quality of life, industry, information and communications, population/ labor force, trade and investment, taxation, public expenditure, and R& D.