Introducing Japanese Popular Culture
by
Specifically designed for use in a range of undergraduate and graduate courses, while reaching specialists and general readers, this second edition of Introducing Japanese Popular Culture is a comprehensive textbook offering an up-to-date overview of a wide variety of media forms. It uses particular case studies as a way into examining the broader themes in Japanese culture and provides a thorough analysis of the historical and contemporary trends that have shaped artistic production, as well as politics, society, and economics. As a result, more than being a time capsule of influential trends, this book teaches enduring lessons about how popular culture reflects the societies that produce and consume it. With contributions from an international team of scholars, representing a range of disciplines from history and anthropology to art history and media studies, the book covers: Characters Television Videogames Fan media and technology Music Popular cinema Anime Manga Spectacles and competitions Sites of popular culture Fashion Contemporary art. Written in an accessible style with ample description and analysis, this textbook is essential reading for students of Japanese culture and society, Asian media and popular culture, globalization, and Asian Studies in general. It is a go-to handbook for interested readers and a compendium for scholars.
Llama 3. 1
by
Dive into the World of Meta's Llama 3.1 Unleash the Power of Open-Source AI Meta's Llama 3.1 is a groundbreaking large language model (LLM) that pushes the boundaries of artificial intelligence. This comprehensive guide delves into the intricacies of Llama 3.1, exploring its architecture, capabilities, and potential applications. Key Features: Enhanced Context Length: Llama 3.1 boasts an extended context length, allowing it to process and generate longer, more coherent text. Multilingual Proficiency: This model excels in multiple languages, enabling seamless communication and content creation across linguistic barriers. Advanced Reasoning and Problem-Solving: Llama 3.1 demonstrates improved reasoning and problem-solving abilities, making it a valuable tool for complex tasks. Applications: Research and Development: Llama 3.1 serves as a powerful platform for AI research, enabling developers to explore new frontiers in natural language processing. Business and Industry: From customer service chatbots to content generation tools, Llama 3.1 can revolutionize various business processes. Education and Research: This model can be used to create personalized learning experiences, assist in research projects, and facilitate knowledge discovery. Whether you're a seasoned AI enthusiast or a curious newcomer, this book provides a comprehensive exploration of Meta's Llama 3.1. Discover the potential of this cutting-edge technology and its transformative impact on the future.
Stag Dance
by
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * "This inventive, boundary-pushing follow-up to Detransition, Baby . . . [takes] on gender, transness and lives on the margins in all of their gorgeously complicated glory."--People "Hot, heartbreaking, and thrillingly victorious."--Miranda July, New York Times bestselling author of All Fours NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE * A VULTURE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR (SO FAR) In this collection of one novel and three stories, bestselling author Torrey Peters's keen eye for the rough edges of community and desire push the limits of trans writing. In Stag Dance, the titular novel, a group of restless lumberjacks working in an illegal winter logging outfit plan a dance that some of them will volunteer to attend as women. When the broadest, strongest, plainest of the axmen announces his intention to dance as a woman, he finds himself caught in a strange rivalry with a pretty young jack, provoking a cascade of obsession, jealousy, and betrayal that will culminate on the big night in an astonishing vision of gender and transition. Three startling stories surround Stag Dance: "Infect Your Friends and Loved Ones" imagines a gender apocalypse brought about by an unstable ex-girlfriend. In "The Chaser," a secret romance between roommates at a Quaker boarding school brings out intrigue and cruelty. In the last story, "The Masker," a party weekend on the Las Vegas strip turns dark when a young crossdresser must choose between two guides: a handsome mystery man who objectifies her in thrilling ways, or a cynical veteran trans woman offering unglamorous sisterhood. Acidly funny and breathtaking in its scope, with the inventive audacity of George Saunders or Jennifer Egan, Stag Dance provokes, unsettles, and delights.
TypeScript for Backend Development
by
TypeScript for Backend Development: Build Scalable, Type-Safe APIs with Node.js & Express 🚀 Is TypeScript used for backend development? Absolutely! This book is your roadmap to mastering TypeScript for backend applications, whether you're a JavaScript developer transitioning to TypeScript or a backend engineer looking for a scalable, type-safe solution. TypeScript isn't just for frontend development--is TypeScript backend? Yes! Major tech companies rely on TypeScript backend frameworks like NestJS and Express to power enterprise-grade APIs and microservices. This guide teaches you how to build robust, maintainable backend applications with modern TypeScript best practices. What You'll Learn in This Backend TypeScript Guide: ✅ TypeScript for Backend or Frontend? - Understand why TypeScript is better than JavaScript for backend and how it eliminates runtime errors with static typing. ✅ Building Scalable APIs - Learn backend with TypeScript and Express to create fast, secure, and modular RESTful services. ✅ Database Integration - Master TypeScript backend project structures with PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, and ORM frameworks like Prisma. ✅ Authentication & Security - Implement JWT authentication, OAuth, and role-based access control to secure your APIs. ✅ Advanced TypeScript Features - Work with TypeScript key-value types, key-index types, and interface key-value pairs to write cleaner, more maintainable code. ✅ Event Handling & Type Safety - Use TypeScript event key types for keyboard, button, and user input events in backend development. ✅ Best TypeScript Backend Frameworks - Explore NestJS, Fastify, and AdonisJS, the best backend TypeScript frameworks in 2024. ✅ Hands-on TypeScript Backend Projects - Build real-world applications to solidify your knowledge and showcase your skills. Why Choose This TypeScript Backend Course? 🔥 Beginner-Friendly & Practical - Covers TypeScript backend and frontend development in a step-by-step manner. 📚 Real-World Use Cases - Learn backend examples, backend software architecture, and backend project structures used by top tech companies. 💼 Career Growth - Backend developer TypeScript jobs are in high demand! Master TypeScript backend frameworks and get ahead in your career. 🚀 Up-to-Date for 2024 - Stay ahead with the latest TypeScript backend framework trends and best practices. Who Should Read This Book? ✔️ Backend Developers - Learn how to build scalable backend APIs using Node.js and TypeScript. ✔️ JavaScript Developers - Transition from JavaScript to TypeScript backend applications with ease. ✔️ Full-Stack Developers - Improve both frontend TypeScript (React, Angular) and backend TypeScript skills for complete web development. ✔️ Aspiring Engineers - Looking for a TypeScript backend tutorial with real-world backend project examples? This book is for you. 🚀 Ready to Build High-Performance Backend Applications with TypeScript? Don't waste time on scattered tutorials--this comprehensive TypeScript backend course gives you everything you need to write type-safe, scalable backend applications. 📚 Get your copy now and start mastering TypeScript for backend development today!
Word of Mouth
by
Conceived during the 2020 COVID-19 lockdown and the accompanying rise in anti-Asian bigotry, Word of Mouth: Asian American Artists Sharing Recipes is an artists' cookbook featuring stories and artwork from twenty-three Asian American and Asian diaspora artists from across the United States, with contributions that range from Los Angeles-based performance artist Kristina Wong's "Recipe for Political Action" to New Orleans-based painter Francis Wong's family recipe for stir-fried Szechuan alligator. Word of Mouth was first published as an online exhibition through the Virtual Asian American Art Museum. This print version features a new introduction by art historian Michelle Yee, expanded essays, and brand-new recipes. Each contribution is accompanied by an original illustration and enriched by the artist's reflections on how their cuisine has been impacted by histories of war, migration, relocation, labor, or mixing. A pandemic project turned illustrated cookbook, this unique collection disrupts genre expectations to celebrate how artists use food to nurture and sustain their diverse communities and artistic practices as well as to build connection during times of isolation, grief, and loss.
99% Perspiration
by
An enlightening and entertaining interrogation of the myth of American self-reliance and the idea of hard work as destiny "Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration." This phrase, arguably Thomas Edison's most famous quote, has been drilled into the minds of generations of Americans. A fairly straightforward iteration of the idea that innovation, discovery, and ingenuity are the result of drive and grit above all, it has also come to represent much darker myths- that hard work always leads to success and that achievement is the product of individuals and not communities. In this model, those who come out on top are there because they earned it, and everyone else needs to buckle down, glove up, and, maybe one day, they'll get there too. As the wealth gap widens, communities crumble, and Americans work more for less, Adam Chandler raises the question- What happens when perspiration isn't enough? To answer it, he crisscrosses the country interviewing mayors, teachers, generals, pastors, construction workers, and entrepreneurs, to reveal just how untenable relying on "perspiration" as a strategy has truly become. He also delves into America's past to reveal how our government, education system, and culture at large have woven the idea of meritocracy deep into the fabric of American society and how some of history's most famous so-called bootstrappers really built their wealth. From George Washington to Seattle,Washington, Jay Gatsby to Bill Gates, 99% Perspiration unpacks the misguided obsession with hard work that has come to define both the American dream and nightmare, offering insight into how we got here and hope for where we may go.
And Then She Fell
by
A Globe and Mail "Best Book of 2023"; a Most Anticipated Book Pick by Good Morning America, Bustle, CrimeReads, Electric Literature, Debutiful, Ms. Magazine, The Nerd Daily, and Paste A mind-bending, razor-sharp look at motherhood and mental health that follows a young Indigenous woman who discovers the picture-perfect life she always hoped for may have horrifying consequences On the surface, Alice is exactly where she thinks she should be: She's just given birth to a beautiful baby girl, Dawn; her charming husband, Steve--a white academic whose area of study is conveniently her own Mohawk culture--is nothing but supportive; and they've moved into a new home in a posh Toronto neighborhood. But Alice could not feel like more of an impostor. She isn't connecting with her daughter, a struggle made even more difficult by the recent loss of her own mother, and every waking moment is spent hiding her despair from Steve and their ever-watchful neighbors, among whom she's the sole Indigenous resident. Even when she does have a minute to herself, her perpetual self-doubt hinders the one vestige of her old life she has left: her goal of writing a modern retelling of the Haudenosaunee creation story. Then, as if all that wasn't enough, strange things start to happen. She finds herself losing bits of time and hearing voices she can't explain, all while her neighbors' passive-aggressive behavior begins to morph into something far more threatening. Though Steve assures her this is all in her head, Alice cannot fight the feeling that something is very, very wrong, and that in her creation story lies the key to her and Dawn's survival.... She just has to finish it before it's too late. Told in Alice's raw and darkly funny voice, And Then She Fell is an urgent and unflinching exploration of inherited trauma, womanhood, denial, and false allyship, which speeds to an unpredictable--and surreal--climax.
Aztec, Inca and Maya
by
Eyewitness: Aztec, Inca & Maya is a spectacular and informative guide to the rise and fall of the pre-Columbian cultures of the Aztecs, Incas, and Mayas, who built vast empires and left behind a legacy of mystery and wonder. Amazing color photographs offer children a unique "eyewitness" view of these incredible civilizations.
Jungle of Stone
by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The "masterful chronicle" of the discovery of the legendary lost civilization of the Maya and the quest to unlock their secrets. Featuring a history and description of the major Maya sites, including Chichen Itza, Tulum, Palenque, Uxmal, Copan, and more. Illustrated with a map and more than 100 images. In 1839, rumors of extraordinary yet baffling stone ruins buried within the unmapped jungles of Central America reached two of the world's most intrepid travelers. Seized by the reports, American diplomat John Lloyd Stephens and British artist Frederick Catherwood--both already celebrated for their adventures in Egypt, the Holy Land, Greece, and Rome--sailed together out of New York Harbor on an expedition into the forbidding rainforests of present-day Honduras, Guatemala, and Mexico. What they found would upend the West's understanding of human history. In the tradition of Lost City of Z and In the Kingdom of Ice, former San Francisco Chronicle journalist and Pulitzer Prize finalist William Carlsen reveals the remarkable story of the discovery of the ancient Maya. Enduring disease, war, and the torments of nature and terrain, Stephens and Catherwood meticulously uncovered and documented the remains of an astonishing civilization that had flourished in the Americas at the same time as classic Greece and Rome--and had been its rival in art, architecture, and power. Their masterful book about the experience, written by Stephens and illustrated by Catherwood, became a sensation, hailed by Edgar Allan Poe as "perhaps the most interesting book of travel ever published" and recognized today as the birth of American archaeology. Most important, Stephens and Catherwood were the first to grasp the significance of the Maya remains, understanding that their antiquity and sophistication overturned the West's assumptions about the development of civilization. By the time of the flowering of classical Greece (400 b.c.), the Maya were already constructing pyramids and temples around central plazas. Within a few hundred years the structures took on a monumental scale that required millions of man-hours of labor, and technical and organizational expertise. Over the next millennium, dozens of city-states evolved, each governed by powerful lords, some with populations larger than any city in Europe at the time, and connected by road-like causeways of crushed stone. The Maya developed a cohesive, unified cosmology, an array of common gods, a creation story, and a shared artistic and architectural vision. They created stucco and stone monuments and bas reliefs, sculpting figures and hieroglyphs with refined artistic skill. At their peak, an estimated ten million people occupied the Maya's heartland on the Yucatan Peninsula, a region where only half a million now live. And yet by the time the Spanish reached the "New World," the Maya had all but disappeared; they would remain a mystery for the next three hundred years. Today, the tables are turned: the Maya are justly famous, if sometimes misunderstood, while Stephens and Catherwood have been nearly forgotten. Based on Carlsen's rigorous research and his own 1,500-mile journey throughout the Yucatan and Central America, Jungle of Stone is equally a thrilling adventure narrative and a revelatory work of history that corrects our understanding of Stephens, Catherwood, and the Maya themselves.
Moral Ambition
by
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER From the author of the New York Times bestsellers Humankind and Utopia for Realists--"a more politically radical Malcolm Gladwell" (The New York Times)--comes a bold manifesto daring us to harness our talents and transform our idealism into action, all with the goal of making the world a wildly better place. A career consists of 2,000 workweeks, and how you spend that time is one of the most important decisions of your life. Still, millions of people are stuck in in mind-numbing, pointless, or just plain harmful jobs. There's an antidote to this waste of talent, and it's called moral ambition. Moral ambition is the will to be among the best, but with different measures of success. Not a fancy title, fat salary, or corner office, but a career dedicated to the best solutions to the world's biggest problems-- whether that means tackling climate change, making pandemics history or fighting Big Tobacco. In Moral Ambition, internationally bestselling author Rutger Bregman reveals how our conventional definitions of success are harming us and the planet, and shows how we can shift the focus from personal gain to societal benefit. In the process, he explains, we will join a growing movement of pioneers who are already living out this ethos. They're the builders, the problem-solvers, the doers who have chosen a path less traveled. A guidebook to finding that path for ourselves, Moral Ambition reminds us that the real measure of success lies not in what we accumulate, but in what we contribute, and shows how we, too, can build a legacy that truly matters.
Please Yell at My Kids
by
The difficulty of raising kids in America is well-known-no federally supported parental leave, a lack of mental health support, a crushing combination of workplace pressure and aspirational parental perfection, and the fresh hell that is the playgroup Facebook page. But what if there was another way? The simple fact is that parenting, and specifically motherhood, looks wildly different across nations. Please Yell at My Kids is an around the world journey and a practical guide to rethinking parenting. What can we learn from Brazilian birth parties, Singaporean grandparents, and Danish babies sleeping soundly outside of coffee shops? And how can that be integrated into the lives of American readers, even if we can't hop on a plane and wing our way to the land of paid parental leave? Journalist Marina Lopes travels around the globe, interviewing and learning from parents in Singapore, France, Mozambique, Indonesia, Japan, Sweden and more to provide practical, actionable ways to reimagine parenting in America. At the heart of many global approaches to parenting lies one simple, and not so simple thing: community. In America, parenting is, at best, a dual mission, perhaps with one partner playing the role of sidekick and occasional comic relief. But globally parenthood is more often a team sport, played in the center of a community that helps, supports, and occasionally drives you up the wall. From guiding caregivers through how to define their own non-negotiable values, to navigating tricky conversations with their in-laws, Please Yell at My Kids provides readers with the inspiration and practical tools to build a community of care in their own lives and reimagine parenthood in a joyful new way.
Tupac Shakur
by
The authorized biography of the legendary artist, Tupac Shakur, a "touching, empathetic portrait" (The New York Times) of his life and powerful legacy, fully illustrated with photos, mementos, handwritten poetry, musings, and more Artist, poet, actor, revolutionary, legend Tupac Shakur is one of the greatest and most controversial artists of all time. More than a quarter of a century after his tragic death in 1996 at the age of just twenty-five, he continues to be one of the most misunderstood, complicated, and influential figures in modern history. Drawing on exclusive access to Tupac's private notebooks, letters, and uncensored conversations with those who loved and knew him best, this estate-authorized biography paints the fullest and most intimate picture to date of the young man who became a legend for generations to come. In Tupac Shakur, author and screenwriter Staci Robinson--who knew Tupac from their shared circle of high school friends in Marin City, California, and who was entrusted by his mother, Afeni Shakur, to share his story--unravels the myths and unpacks the complexities that have shadowed Tupac's existence. Decades in the making, this book pulls back the curtain to reveal a powerful story of a life defined by politics and art--a man driven by equal parts brilliance and impulsiveness, steeped in the rich intellectual tradition of Black empowerment, and unafraid to utter raw truths about race in America. It is a story of a mother and son bound together by a love for each other and for their people, and the relationship that endured through their darkest times. It is a political story that begins in the whirlwind of the 1960s civil rights movement and unfolds through a young artist's awakening to rage and purpose in the '90s era of Rodney King. It is a story of dizzying success and its devastating consequences. And, of course, it is the story of Tupac's music, his timeless, undying message as it continues to touch and inspire us today.
Who Needs College Anymore?
by
An optimistic yet practical assessment of how postsecondary education can evolve to meet the needs of next-generation learners ​With keen insight, Kathleen deLaski reimagines what higher education might offer and whom it should serve in Who Needs College Anymore? In the wake of declining US university enrollment and widespread crises of confidence in the value of a college degree, deLaski urges a mindset shift regarding the learning routes and credentials that best prepare students for success after high school. The work draws on a decade of design-thinking research from the nonprofit Education Design Lab as well as 150 interviews of educational experts, college and career counselors, teachers, employers, and learners. DeLaski applies human-centered design to higher education reform, engaging the perspective of end users to search for better solutions. She highlights ten top principles based on user feedback and considers how well they are currently being enacted by colleges. In particular, she urges institutions to better attend to the needs of new-majority learners, often described as nontraditional students, including people from low- or moderate-income backgrounds, people of color, first-generation students, veterans, single mothers, rural students, part-time attendees, and neurodivergent students. She finds ample opportunity for colleges to support learners via alternative pathways to marketable knowledge, including bootcamps, skills-based learning, and apprenticeships, career training, and other types of workplace learning. This work suggests innovation as a means of evolution.
Chooch Helped
by
Caldecott Medal Winner Kirkus Best Book of 2024 - CCBC Choices 2025 A Cherokee girl introduces her younger brother to their family's traditions -- begrudgingly! -- in this picture book written by Walter Award-winner Andrea L. Rogers and featuring gorgeous collage illustrations from debut artist Rebecca Lee Kunz. Sissy's younger brother, Chooch, isn't a baby anymore. They just celebrated his second birthday, after all. But no matter what Chooch does -- even if he's messing something up! Which is basically all the time! -- their parents say he's just "helping." Sissy feels that Chooch can get away with anything! When Elisi paints a mural, Chooch helps. When Edutsi makes grape dumplings, Chooch helps. When Oginalii gigs for crawdads, Chooch helps. When Sissy tries to make a clay pot, Chooch helps . . . "Hesdi!" Sissy yells. Quit it! And Chooch bursts into tears. What follows is a tender family moment that will resonate with anyone who has welcomed a new little one to the fold. Chooch Helped is a universal story of an older sibling learning to make space for a new child, told with grace by Andrea L. Rogers and stunning art from Rebecca Lee Kunz showing one Cherokee family practicing their cultural traditions.
A Theatergoer's Guide to Shakespeare's Characters
by
Following on his successful Guides to the plots and themes of Shakespeare's plays, Robert Fallon now explores the world of characters created by the Bard. Like Mr. Fallon's earlier books, A Theatergoer's Guide to Shakespeare's Characters is designed to enhance the playgoer's enjoyment of a performance, but it also makes for enlightening reading after the show. Intended for the general reader, it is written in plain but not inelegant English and avoids the specialized language of the theater and the academy. More than eight hundred characters appear in Shakespeare's thirty-eight plays--an astonishing variety of kings and queens, mothers and fathers, clowns and fairies, peasants and dukes, villains and heroes, the young and the old, the sinning and the sinned against. How could he have known so many in his diverse culture and portrayed them so convincingly? Mr. Fallon has chosen some sixty of these figures to examine. With few exceptions, they are the ones that modern theatergoers are most likely to encounter in performance, those that have captured the imagination of audiences over the centuries: Lear, Hamlet, Cleopatra, Rosalind, Portia, and the like. But some lesser-known characters are offered for their inherent interest and their example of Shakespeare's "infinite variety." Mr. Fallon locates each of them in the story of their play, relates them to other characters, shows how they change (or don't), and sums up their character and nature. Readers of his other Guides know they will find in Characters an entertaining and useful appraisal. "This book is as handy as they come...distilled without being dunderheaded--reader-friendly in the extreme."--American Theatre (on A Theatergoer's Guide to Shakespeare)
Applied Yoga(tm) for Musculoskeletal Pain
by
This innovative and evidence-based book provides practical and transformative guidance on how to help clients struggling with chronic and acute musculoskeletal pain through yoga and remedial exercise. Using a holistic framework that addresses the physical, mental and emotional challenges of chronic pain, Jory Serota offers a wide range of tools yoga therapists and bodyworkers can use to empower clients and help them work with their bodies intuitively. It includes photographs with step-by-step instructions for practice, all of which include adaptations to meet a range of ability and mobility. Common areas of chronic pain are discussed in depth, including the lower back, knees, hips, sacroiliac joint and glutes, shoulders, and neck, allowing practitioners to address specific concerns and maximise healing. Practitioners will benefit from full yoga sequences and will be able to expand their offering by practically and confidently addressing the widespread struggle of chronic musculoskeletal pain.
Best Face Forward
by
A renowned photographer, curator, and critic offers extraordinary insights into the evolution and significance of portrait photography. "When we contemplate a portrait," says Gerry Badger in his introduction to this book, "we are asked to contemplate life. We are drawn powerfully to the person depicted." The relational aspect of portraiture comes into sharp focus through this personal selection of photographic portraits from the past two centuries. Here readers will find well-known works by widely recognized photographers together with lesser-known, but no less superb, pictures by lesser- known artists. Tied together with Badger's unique insights, these photographs reference and complement each other in an ongoing conversation about portrait photography's history, perspectives, and concerns. Each entry features a full-page duotone or color image accompanied by a brief essay. Badger's exacting insights and encyclopedic knowledge of his subject lead readers through a scintillating discussion that examines "death" portraits by Hippolyte Bayard and Sunil Gupta; issues of colonialism and racism through works by Malaysian photographer Yee I-Lann and Samuel Miller's portrait of Frederick Douglass; portraits of women from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; and what is perhaps the first "celebrity" photograph of Sarah Bernhardt. Including a variety of mediums, from calotype and collage to palladium and ink- jet prints, this volume is a marvelously enlightening masterclass on photographic portraiture, as well as a unique and valuable reference work.
Learn the MERN Stack
by
Want to Build a Real-World Full-Stack App from Scratch? Imagine being able to build a complete web application from start to finish--frontend, backend, authentication, database, and deployment. No more jumping between random tutorials. No more confusion about how everything connects. Just one complete project that ties it all together. This book is your step-by-step guide to building a full-stack book library app using the MERN stack--MongoDB, Express, React, and Node.js. You'll go beyond just learning the theory and actually code along as you create a real-world application that includes user authentication, search functionality, image uploads, and more. If you've been looking for a practical, hands-on way to learn full-stack development, this is it. What You'll Learn You won't just follow along--you'll understand why things work. We'll cover: React.js basics and beyond - Build dynamic, interactive UI components. Node.js & Express for beginners - Set up your backend and create an API. MongoDB database integration - Store and manage book data efficiently. User authentication - Implement secure login and signup functionality. File uploads - Allow users to upload book cover images. Search functionality - Make books easy to find with a dynamic search feature. Deploying your app - Take your project live using GitHub and Render. By the end, you'll have built something real--a fully functional app you can showcase in your portfolio, improve upon, or even turn into your own project. Who Is This For? If you've ever felt lost while trying to learn full-stack development, this book makes it simple. New developers who want to learn the MERN stack the right way. Frontend developers who want to expand into backend development. Anyone who prefers learning by doing. No fluff. No unnecessary complexity. Just clear, real-world coding that will actually help you grow as a developer. Let's Build Something Real This isn't just another tutorial. It's a project that will level up your skills and help you understand how full-stack applications actually work. If you're ready to stop jumping between incomplete guides and actually build a working app, grab your copy now and start coding today!
Node. js Made Simple
by
Are you ready to unlock the power of Node.js and take your first steps into the world of server-side programming? Whether you're a front-end developer expanding your skills or a complete beginner, Node.js Made Simple offers a straightforward, hands-on approach to mastering one of the most in-demand technologies in web development. This book is designed to transform the way you learn Node.js, guiding you through practical exercises that build your skills step by step. From setting up your first server to creating real-world applications, you'll gain the confidence and expertise needed to succeed in today's fast-paced development landscape. What's Inside the Book? Foundations of Node.js: Learn how Node.js works under the hood, including its non-blocking, event-driven architecture. Discover why it's the go-to choice for building scalable, high-performance applications. Building HTTP Servers: Dive into the basics of creating and managing web servers using Node.js. Learn to handle requests and responses, serve content, and build RESTful APIs from scratch. Asynchronous Programming Made Easy: Master JavaScript's asynchronous features, such as callbacks, promises, and async/await, to handle real-time data processing and API requests with ease. File Systems and Modules: Explore Node.js's powerful built-in modules like fs for file handling and path for managing directories. Learn how to use and create your own reusable modules for modular, maintainable code. npm and Third-Party Libraries: Discover the Node Package Manager (npm) to manage dependencies and supercharge your development with thousands of third-party libraries. Hands-On Projects: Put theory into practice with guided exercises, from creating a JSON API to building a real-time chat application. Each project is designed to reinforce your learning with practical, real-world scenarios. Debugging and Troubleshooting: Learn how to identify and fix common errors in Node.js, ensuring your applications run smoothly and efficiently. Unlike traditional programming books that overwhelm you with theory, Node.js Made Simple is built around actionable learning. Each chapter includes clear explanations, coding exercises, and step-by-step examples to ensure you can immediately apply what you learn. By the end of the book, you'll have a strong foundation in Node.js and a collection of small but functional applications. Who Is This Book For? Beginners: No prior back-end experience is required. This book walks you through everything, from setting up your environment to deploying your first server. Front-End Developers: Already familiar with JavaScript? This book helps you extend your skills to the back end, opening up opportunities to become a full-stack developer. Self-Learners: If you prefer hands-on, project-based learning, this book is the perfect resource to help you gain practical Node.js experience. By the time you complete Node.js Made Simple, you'll be able to: Build scalable, efficient servers and APIs using Node.js. Understand and utilize asynchronous programming techniques. Work with file systems, HTTP requests, and third-party libraries. Debug and troubleshoot Node.js applications effectively. Start creating your own back-end projects with confidence. Node.js has revolutionized web development by enabling developers to use JavaScript for both client-side and server-side programming. Its lightweight, fast, and scalable architecture makes it the backbone of modern applications, from streaming services like Netflix to real-time platforms like Slack. Learning Node.js not only enhances your JavaScript skills but also positions you for success in an ever-evolving tech industry.
Readers for Life
by
An anthology both personal and profound exploring the deep meaning of reading in our lives. Readers for Life is a collection of essays, mainly specially commissioned for the book, by fiction authors and literary scholars, who reflect on their childhood or adolescent memories of reading. The essays explore how the act of reading shapes an individual, from our formative years into adulthood and beyond. Instead of focusing on reading as an act of escapism, or mere literacy, these writings celebrate reading as a lifelong, joyful experience that intertwines past and present. By revealing our diverse reading histories, the collection fosters awareness of the profound impact of reading on a person's development and offers readers insights that will enrich their own literary experiences. Featuring an introduction by editors Sander L. Gilman and Heta Pyrhönen, Readers for Life includes essays by Natalya Bekhta, Peter Brooks, Philip Davis, Linda and Michael Hutcheon, Sander L. Gilman, Daniel Mendelsohn, Laura Otis, Laura Oulanne, Heta Pyrhönen, Salman Rushdie, Cristina Sandu, Pajtim Statovci, and Maria Tatar, as well as an interview with Michael Rosen.
Tupac Shakur
by
A passionate, critically incisive cultural biography of hip-hop icon Tupac Shakur and an examination of the forces that shaped him. In 1996 Tupac Shakur, one of the most talented artists of his time, was murdered by an unknown gunman. Fred L. Johnson and Tayannah Lee McQuillar examine the theories surrounding his death and the story of Tupac's lost legacy in this definitive biography. For millions, Shakur gave voice to their stories, but there was also another side to him, revealed as his life spun out of control, as the whispered warnings from friends went unheeded and the denunciations of critics grew louder. Disturbingly, he sang and wrote about his impending death. When it came, it brought the music industry to its knees and ended an era when American rappers were leaders in using their art to speak the truth to corporate, government, and judicial power.
Women in Their Beds
by
"In these 35 stories, one struggles to find a sentence that is anything less than jewel-box perfect." --The New York Times Book Review Gina Berriault is known for the complexity and compassion with which she weaves her characters, and her stories are such models of economy that they seem almost telepathic. In this reissue of her collected stories--twenty years after its first publication--with a new introduction by renowned author and devoted Berriault advocate Peter Orner--we see the deft hand of this well-loved master of the short story at its best. Berriault employs her vital sensibility--sometimes subtly ironic and sometimes achingly raw--to touch on the inevitability of suffering and the nature of individuality, daring to see into the essence of our predicaments. What moves us? What dictates our behavior? What alters us? Her writing is spare, evanescent, pulsing with life and shimmering with life's strange hope. Her stories illustrate the depth of her emotional understanding. "Half the women in the world are right now in bed, theirs or somebody else's, whether it's night or day, whether they want to be or not..." With Women in Their Beds, Berriault's prose--moving, honest, and wise--achieves a mastery of the short story form that was in evidence every step of her long career. She was a completely modern writer, blessed with an exquisite sense of the potency of words and the ability to create moments of empathy that are both disturbing and mysteriously amusing.
Thomas Jefferson and the Development of American Public Education
by
This title is part of UC Press's Voices Revived program, which commemorates University of California Press's mission to seek out and cultivate the brightest minds and give them voice, reach, and impact. Drawing on a backlist dating to 1893, Voices Revived makes high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship accessible once again using print-on-demand technology. This title was originally published in 1962.
An Introduction to Severe Storms and Hazardous Weather
by
This book presents a deep and encompassing survey of severe weather in all its forms. An Introduction to Severe Storms and Hazardous Weather is an exciting new textbook that allows students to learn the principles of atmospheric science through the drama, exhilaration, and even tragedy of severe weather. Balancing breadth and depth, Jeffrey B. Halverson adeptly combines a short, accessible introduction to the basic principles of meteorology with detailed coverage on large- and small-scale weather hazards. He draws on specific up-to-date case studies from North America to illustrate the cause of meteorological events including hurricanes, heavy snow and ice, floods, and tornadoes. Unlike existing books on the market, Halverson delves deep into the societal impacts of these events, drawing on examples from agriculture, utility infrastructure, and commercial aviation. Each chapter also features high-quality, customized color artwork by Thomas D. Rabenhorst that helps to enhance and embed learning. Thorough in its scope, and written with an impeccable focus on the science, this book will be an essential resource for introductory undergraduate courses in severe weather, natural hazards, and extreme meteorology. It is also an excellent supplemental textbook for courses on meteorology and atmospheric science.
As If Human
by
A new approach to the challenges surrounding artificial intelligence that argues for assessing AI actions as if they came from a human being "Elegant and erudite."--John Thornhill, Financial Times Intelligent machines present us every day with urgent ethical challenges. Is the facial recognition software used by an agency fair? When algorithms determine questions of justice, finance, health, and defense, are the decisions proportionate, equitable, transparent, and accountable? How do we harness this extraordinary technology to empower rather than oppress? Despite increasingly sophisticated programming, artificial intelligences share none of our essential human characteristics--sentience, physical sensation, emotional responsiveness, versatile general intelligence. However, Nigel Shadbolt and Roger Hampson argue, if we assess AI decisions, products, and calls for action as if they came from a human being, we can avert a disastrous and amoral future. The authors go beyond the headlines about rampant robots to apply established moral principles in shaping our AI future. Their new framework constitutes a how-to for building a more ethical machine intelligence.
Blind Spots
by
An Instant New York Times Bestseller From Johns Hopkins medical expert Dr. Marty Makary, the New York Times-bestselling author of The Price We Pay-an eye-opening look at the medical groupthink that has led to public harm, and what you need to know about your health. More Americans have peanut allergies today than at any point in history. Why? In 2000, the American Academy of Pediatrics issued a strict recommendation that parents avoid giving their children peanut products until they're three years old. Getting the science perfectly backward, triggering intolerance with lack of early exposure, the US now leads the world in peanut allergies-and this misinformation is still rearing its head today. How could the experts have gotten it so wrong? Dr. Marty Makary asks, Could it be that many modern-day health crises have been caused by the hubris of the medical establishment? Experts said for decades that opioids were not addictive, igniting the opioid crisis. They refused menopausal women hormone replacement therapy, causing unnecessary suffering. They demonized natural fat in foods, driving Americans to processed carbohydrates as obesity rates soared. They told citizens that there are no downsides to antibiotics and prescribed them liberally, causing a drug-resistant bacteria crisis. When modern medicine issues recommendations based on good scientific studies, it shines. Conversely, when modern medicine is interpreted through the harsh lens of opinion and edict, it can mold beliefs that harm patients and stunt research for decades. In Blind Spots, Dr. Makary explores the latest research on critical topics ranging from the microbiome to childbirth to nutrition and longevity and more, revealing the biggest blind spots of modern medicine and tackling the most urgent yet unsung issues in our $4.5 trillion health care ecosystem. The path to medical mishaps can be absurd, entertaining, and jaw-dropping-but the truth is essential to our health.
