Skip to main content

ENGL 8, Herman: Literary Criticism Online

Intended for students in Allison Herman's Children's Literature course.

Background

Credo Reference offers books with useful background information, including several just on the topic of literary criticism.

Literature Resource Center: Our Best Database for Literary Criticism

What is it?

This database combines full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

Where do I find it?

On the library home page scroll down to the OneSearch box and click on Find Articles. Notice that when you do that, a link to the A-Z Database List appears below the search box. Click on that link and then select Literature Resource Center from the list.

How do I use it?

Enter an author or literary work in the search box and select the type of content you want, e.g. Literature Criticism. You can print, email, or download documents.

Biographical Informaton

Search these databases to find out more about an author.

Articles

Literary criticism often appears in scholarly journals, and it is worth checking some of the library's databases under the General category on the A-Z Database List page. Try searches in Academic OneFile, Academic Search Complete (be sure to check the box to limit your results to peer-reviewed publications to get the most scholarly sources), and JSTOR (which only includes results from scholarly journals).

eBooks