If you are having difficulty selecting a topic, sometimes the best idea is to begin with a general topic and then let your background reading lead you to a more specific idea. Background research in an encyclopedia or other general source can also
Use one of the resources below to start your research:
Black's Veterinary Dictionary by You can find thousands of articles in magazines and journals in the library's databases. What is a database? A collection of the online versions of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles that can be searched and accessed online.
To find the listing of databases the library recommends for veterinary technology, click on the A-Z Database List from the Find Articles tab in the OneSearch search box on the Library website.
Then sort databases by Subject - Veterinary Technology. If you are off campus, you will see a login page prompting you to enter your student ID. The following databases are especially good for finding peer-reviewed articles:
Use the Find Books tab in OneSearch to find books in print and a link to the EBSCO E-Books database. Make sure you sign-in with your CWID to get the best user experience.
In OneSearch, the results list will give you basic information about each item, including availability. To find out more, click on Details. Details provides all the publication information for item, plus the item's subject headings, which are clickable links and may give you ideas for other searches to try. Details may also include a description and the table of contents.
Some keywords that might be useful for the Research Project include:
Animal Diseases
Pets diseases
Books that are available to be checked out are located in the STACKS. Ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.
View the following tutorial for more information on using the EBSCO E-books database:
