Skip to Main Content

eBooks - How to Use & Access Through EBSCO

A guide on how to use eBooks through the library using the EBSCOhost eBooks feature.

Accessing Through De Anza's Website

Accessing eBooks using the Library's website

  • Access the database using the library's database webpage. Click on EBSCOhost eBook Collection at the top - not EBSCOhost the research database.
    • You will need to log in using your MyPortal credentials if you are not already logged in (through Canvas, MyPortal, etc.).

       

Searching & Accessing the Collection

  • When you open EBSCOhost eBook Collection, it opens into a screen very similar to the research database.
  • You can navigate in several different ways.

Browse By Category

  •  

Highlights

  •  

  • When you search using the search bar or (in this case) selecting the featured books, the search results screen will open.
  • You can access the item's record through clicking on the book's title or directly access types of files through the file types
    • Types usually include PDF Full Text, which can be opened on desktop PCs or Macs
    • EPUB files can be opened on mobile using the EBSCO eBook app
      • Can also be opened through Adobe Digital Editions on desktop PCs

Opening an eBook

  • When you open a book through its title, it opens into the book's Detailed Record.
    • You can see information on the book, including what categories it is listed under (you can search these categories by clicking on the category hyperlink).
    • There is a summary of the book supplied by the publisher.
    • On the right-hand side are tools to cite the book, save the book, permalink, and more.

 

  • When you open a book using PDF format, it'll open in-browser as an interior PDF viewer. 

Accessing Specific Chapters

  • You can then download specific sections of the book using the Table of Contents pane on the left-hand side. Downloading specific chapters adheres to copyright page limiting. Look in the Downloads section to see how downloading operates.
  • Click on "Search Within" to search the eBook using the search engine. This will search the entire work.
    • While you can search a work, it'll serve you a huge amount of results. Be aware!

Saving eBooks

Saving eBooks using Folders

  • When you open an eBook, it opens into the Detailed Record.
    • If you want to save the eBook, you can use your EBSCOhost account to save it using the Save tool or Add to a Folder.
  • If you add a book to a Folder (on the right-hand side), you can access your Folders using the Folder button at the top of the screen.

 

  • After clicking Folder, it'll open the Folder window.
  • In the middle you will see your saved eBooks.
  • On the left-hand side you will see different sources you've saved. This Folder menu is shared with other EBSCOhost services, such as the Databases you access through the Library's website.
    • This allows you to save different information sources for quick & easy access.
    • Pair it with saving articles to flesh out your college-level research!