Reference books (both print and online) are a great place to start your research. Here you will find an overview of your topic. Use these sources to help you choose the infectious disease you will write about. These sources are easy to use, have lots of pictures, and most importantly are written by experts in the field.
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. Features *200 photos and illustrations and hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices *Year in Review table highlights key clinical updates over the last year *Comprehensive coverage of patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to day-to-day practice *Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images and annual review of advances in HIV treatment *Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders *Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style *Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information *Electronic-only chapters available to all book customers *Expanded chapter content available online and in eBook for all chapter content
Diseass and Disorders
Staying healthy requires knowledge and attention. Diseases and Disorders provides instructive details on more than 250 infectious diseases, mental disorders, and noninfectious diseases and disorders. Written with young adult readers especially in mind, each article looks at risk factors, symptoms, treatment, prevention, and other subjects that will enhance your librarys resources for promoting good health. More than 50 overview articles examine broad health care issues in articles such as Prevention, Alcohol-related disorders, Food poisoning, Cardiovascular disorders, and Injury.
Human Diseases and Conditions by
Designed primarily for use by high school students and young adults in the general population seeking authoritative health information, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. is the revised and updated edition of Charles Scribnerâ??s Sonsâ?? well received Human Diseases and Conditions (2009). Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions. This edition includes nearly 75 new and 360 completely reviewed and revised articles. The topics covered include infectious diseases, many cancers, chronic and acute physical and psychological conditions, newly emerging and reemerging diseases, public health issues, and issues of interest to the young adult audience (eating disorders, sports injuries, growth, and puberty). Behavioral health is covered as thoroughly as physical health. In addition, the comprehensiveness of 425 photos, informative illustrations, and charts thoroughly enhances the already-rich textual information. A glossary of key terms, bibliography, list of organizations, and a comprehensive two-level subject index is also included.
Infectious Diseases and Conditions by
The set contains 650 essays on all aspects of infectious diseases, including pathogens and pathogenicity, transmission, the immune system, vaccines, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and social concerns such as bioterrorism. These essays will interest science and premedical students, students of epidemiology and public health, public library patrons, and librarians building collections in science and medicine.
Magill's Medical Guide by
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
All the health care information you need in one package! Merck returns! The new 18th Edition of The Merck Manual is packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help deliver the best patient care. The world's most widely used and oldest continually published medical reference now features expanded clinical focus on each disorder, as well as more specific guidance on patient examinations. This handy, compact textbook was written by more than 300 expert clinicians for everyday use. Designed for maximum clinical usefulness, the new Merck Manual makes it easy to find the right information, right when you need it. All-new clinical approach chapters All-new disease summaries 339 chapters, 34 completely new including: Nutritional Support Neck and Back Pain Autonomic Nervous System Male Reproductive Endocrinology Fractures, Dislocations and Sprains Principles of Radiologic Imaging Complementary and Alternative Medicine Dietary Supplements Medicolegal Issues Care of the Surgical Patient Approach to the Critically Ill Patient 69 new illustrations New cross-referencing to specific pages All-new two-colour printing New content on vital hot topics such as: Critical care medicine Metabolic syndrome Acute lung injury Biological warfare and terrorism SARS Smallpox and much more!
Professional Guide to Diseases by
Get ready to provide efficient, informed patient care, with the newly updated Professional Guide to Diseases , 11th Edition . This comprehensive guide offers the causes, signs and symptoms for more than 600 disorders, with expert nursing direction on tests, assessments, diagnosis, treatments, and special considerations. Whether you are a student preparing for board certification or are a new or experienced nurse, this is vital support for understanding correct treatment of the common conditions seen almost daily. Build up your ground-floor knowledge of a wide range of common disorders and diseases: NEW full-color figures and illustrations Boxed text on pathophysiology and prevention that helps reinforce difficult concepts Icons that emphasize important concepts: Elderly Tip, Pediatric Tip, Clinical Alert, Life-Threatening Disorder, and Confirming Diagnosis Consistent template that makes information quick and easy to find yet comprehensive enough to offer complete coverage of a group of similar diseases Expert guidance that leads you to targeted, cost-effective testing Chapters offer a thorough grounding in:Disorders found in individual body systems - Cardiovascular; respiratory; neurologic; gastrointestinal; hepatobiliary; musculoskeletal; renal and urologic; immune; hematologic; metabolic and nutritional; endocrine; eye; ear, nose and throat; skin; genetic; obstetric and gynecologic; sexual; and psychiatric Malignant neoplasms - Head, neck and spine; thorax; abdomen and pelvis; male and female genitalia; bone, skin and soft tissue; blood and lymph Infection - Gram-positive cocci, gram-negative cocci, gram-positive bacilli, gram-negative bacilli, spirochetes and mycobacteria, mycoses, respiratory viruses, rash-producing viruses, enteroviruses, arbovirus, miscellaneous viruses, rickettsia, protozoa, helminths Trauma - Head, neck and spine, thorax, abdomen, extremities, whole body Updated information on rare diseases, potential agents of bioterrorism, and complementary and alternative therapies for specific conditions, with additional coverage for more than 50 life-threatening disorders Detailed guidance on hundreds of commonly seen disorders and diseases in easy-to-read language -- ideal for both graduate and undergraduate study Offers new nurses the confidence to function fully while building on-the-unit skills and know-how Small enough size to carry with you as a solid resource -- informative, concise and organized for easy reference Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Clinical Editor Dr. Laura M. Willis, DNP, APRN-CNP,CMSRN, is a Family Nurse Practitioner at Urbana Family Medicine and Pediatrics in Urbana, Ohio
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology by
This handbook is a combination of text, clinical reference and colour atlas. The illustrations provide some of the best quality and most varied examples of skin conditions important to any health care pforessional dealing with skin problems.
Human Diseases and Conditions by
Designed primarily for use by high school students and young adults in the general population seeking authoritative health information, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. is the revised and updated edition of Charles Scribnerâ??s Sonsâ?? well received Human Diseases and Conditions (2009). Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions. This edition includes nearly 75 new and 360 completely reviewed and revised articles. The topics covered include infectious diseases, many cancers, chronic and acute physical and psychological conditions, newly emerging and reemerging diseases, public health issues, and issues of interest to the young adult audience (eating disorders, sports injuries, growth, and puberty). Behavioral health is covered as thoroughly as physical health. In addition, the comprehensiveness of 425 photos, informative illustrations, and charts thoroughly enhances the already-rich textual information. A glossary of key terms, bibliography, list of organizations, and a comprehensive two-level subject index is also included.
Infectious Diseases and Conditions by
The set contains 650 essays on all aspects of infectious diseases, including pathogens and pathogenicity, transmission, the immune system, vaccines, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and social concerns such as bioterrorism. These essays will interest science and premedical students, students of epidemiology and public health, public library patrons, and librarians building collections in science and medicine.
Magill's Medical Guide by
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.
Principles of Microbiology by
Microbiology is the study of the invisible world of microorganisms, organisms so small that microscopes and other special equipment are needed to directly observe them. They play a crucial role in maintaining the Earth's atmosphere and help decompose organic matter. Microbiology plays a role in a great variety of areas, including optimizing soil for agriculture, developing preservatives and pharmaceuticals, genetic engineering, and developing climate change models. The discovery of microbes was instrumental in controlling infectious disease outbreaks that had, for centuries, wiped out entire populations.
Professional Guide to Diseases by
Get ready to provide efficient, informed patient care, with the newly updated Professional Guide to Diseases , 11th Edition . This comprehensive guide offers the causes, signs and symptoms for more than 600 disorders, with expert nursing direction on tests, assessments, diagnosis, treatments, and special considerations. Whether you are a student preparing for board certification or are a new or experienced nurse, this is vital support for understanding correct treatment of the common conditions seen almost daily. Build up your ground-floor knowledge of a wide range of common disorders and diseases: NEW full-color figures and illustrations Boxed text on pathophysiology and prevention that helps reinforce difficult concepts Icons that emphasize important concepts: Elderly Tip, Pediatric Tip, Clinical Alert, Life-Threatening Disorder, and Confirming Diagnosis Consistent template that makes information quick and easy to find yet comprehensive enough to offer complete coverage of a group of similar diseases Expert guidance that leads you to targeted, cost-effective testing Chapters offer a thorough grounding in:Disorders found in individual body systems - Cardiovascular; respiratory; neurologic; gastrointestinal; hepatobiliary; musculoskeletal; renal and urologic; immune; hematologic; metabolic and nutritional; endocrine; eye; ear, nose and throat; skin; genetic; obstetric and gynecologic; sexual; and psychiatric Malignant neoplasms - Head, neck and spine; thorax; abdomen and pelvis; male and female genitalia; bone, skin and soft tissue; blood and lymph Infection - Gram-positive cocci, gram-negative cocci, gram-positive bacilli, gram-negative bacilli, spirochetes and mycobacteria, mycoses, respiratory viruses, rash-producing viruses, enteroviruses, arbovirus, miscellaneous viruses, rickettsia, protozoa, helminths Trauma - Head, neck and spine, thorax, abdomen, extremities, whole body Updated information on rare diseases, potential agents of bioterrorism, and complementary and alternative therapies for specific conditions, with additional coverage for more than 50 life-threatening disorders Detailed guidance on hundreds of commonly seen disorders and diseases in easy-to-read language -- ideal for both graduate and undergraduate study Offers new nurses the confidence to function fully while building on-the-unit skills and know-how Small enough size to carry with you as a solid resource -- informative, concise and organized for easy reference Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Clinical Editor Dr. Laura M. Willis, DNP, APRN-CNP,CMSRN, is a Family Nurse Practitioner at Urbana Family Medicine and Pediatrics in Urbana, Ohio
For off-campus access to the online databases, journals, and eBooks, you'll need your student ID.