The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.
Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports. And, with JSTOR’s unique Workspace tool, you can easily save, organize, and teach with Arstor images alongside other JSTOR content in one convenient workflow.
For more information, please visit the Artstor on JSTOR Guide.
Artstor can be accessed on mobile devices or desktop computers. However, it is recommended that you register for an account. See instructions for registering for an Artstor account.
Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608
Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611
Artstor is a subscription database of digital images in arts, humanities, education and sciences. Access is provided by the A-Z Databases page. Artstor gives students and faculty the ability to view and save images from institutions all over the world. It is easy to get started collecting and viewing images. Some of the more powerful functions of the software may take some instruction. Besides the instruction in this guide there are additional tutorials presented in the "Other Tutorials" tab
Follow this link to the Artstor database from the Foothill database page: A-Z Databases.
To find course materials that your instructors have found for classes using Artstor, begin on the Artstor homepage. Next, click on the Browse tab, then the link labeled Groups.
To find content in the Institutional Folder that has been created by Foothill Instructors, look for the link for your class or topic. Content is listed by class number or instructor.
Artstor has created subject guides on a variety of topics to provide helpful information about the collections and suggest keywords which will aid your search.
Individual Subject Guides include:
African and African-American Studies
American Studies
Anthropology
Architecture
Asian Studies
Classical Studies
Decorative Arts
Fashion and Costume
History of Medicine and Natural Science
Languages and Literature
Latin American Studies
Maps and Geography
Medieval Studies
Middle Eastern Studies
Music History
Native American Studies
Photography
Religious Studies
Renaissance Studies
Theater and Dance
Women’s Studies