Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608
Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611
Black's Medical Dictionary by
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons
Mosby's Medical Dictionary by Use OneSearch to find books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Make sure you sign-in with your CWID to get the best user experience. To search for books in the library's print collection, choose "Library Catalog" from the drop-down menu as shown below:
Once you click on a book's title from the list of search results, you'll see the following information:
Books that are available to be checked out are located in the STACKS. Ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.
Some keywords and phrases that might be useful for you to search are:
| "human anatomy" | anatomy |
| "nuclear medicine" | physiology |
| "human physiology" | radiologic |
| radiographic | imaging |
| radiography | mammography |
1. Find the book you're looking for using OneSearch! Type in the title of the book into the search bar then click "Search"
2. On the left-hand side of the results page, click "Availability" then over "Held by Library" and check the box that appears next to it.
3. Next, click on the "Apply Filters" button on the bottom of the screen.
4. Look for the book title under the new search results.
Note: If you can’t find the book you’re looking for, please email Circulation staff at fhlibrary@fhda.edu because we may be able to purchase it for you to borrow.
Check out the tutorial below:
Cranial Neuroimaging and Clinical Neuroanatomy by
Thieme's classic, indispensable guide to sectional imaging of the cranium Now in a revised and expanded fourth edition, this exquisitely illustrated text/atlas by renowned experts, provides you with the cognitive tools to visualize and interpret CT and MR images of the cranium. In exacting detail, the normal structures of the brain, as seen in the three orthogonal planes (axial, sagittal, and coronal), are revealed with unparalleled accuracy, making the volume a highly useful aid in daily practice, for teaching, and to provide an anatomic baseline for research on the brain. Beyond the clinical utility of the contents, the work is an aesthetic pleasure to behold, making learning and comprehension of complex material as simple and easy as possible. Key Features: Detailed brain anatomy shown in the three orthogonal planes; two-page spreads showing imaging studies keyed to the graphics using numbers that are consistent throughout Graphic representation of the major arterial and venous territories, and CNS spaces, supra- and infratentorial The most important neurofunctional systems revealed in multiplanar parallel sections, including detail on the potential sites of lesions and corresponding neurologic deficits New to the fourth edition: All X-ray and CT-/MR images replaced with new high-resolution CT and MR images High resolution 3-Tesla MR images of the brainstem, 7-Tesla-images, fractional anisotropy (FA) maps as well as quantitative susceptibility maps (QSM) New material on temporal bone, brain maturation, neurofunctional systems Clinical context updated and expanded Cranial Neuroimaging and Clinical Neuroanatomy is an essential reference guide for neuroradiologists and neurosurgeons (in training and in practice) and will also be welcomed by many neurologists. This book includes complimentary access to a dig
Gastrointestinal Imaging: a Core Review by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Prepare for success on the gastrointestinal imaging component of the radiology Core Exam! Gastrointestinal Imaging: A Core Review, 2nd Edition, is an up-to-date, practical review tool written specifically for the Core Exam. This helpful resource covers the wide variety of organs and contains 300 image-rich, multiple-choice questions with detailed explanations of right and wrong answers, fully revised content, high-yield tables and figures for easy review, and additional eBook questions to ensure you're ready for the Core Exam and Certifying Exam. Features questions in all exam areas, including anatomy, image-based diagnosis, disease management, postoperative complications, image acquisition physics, and artifacts. Accompanies each question with high-quality radiographs, fluoroscopic, CT, MR, or ultrasound images. Provides concise answers with explanations of each choice followed by relevant, up-to-date references. Follows the structure and content of what you'll encounter on the test, conveniently organized by topic. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Radiography in the Digital Age by
This 3rd edition of Radiography in the Digital Age was peer-reviewed by five colleagues who brought many valuable corrections and improvements to the text. The entire textbook has been converted to metric units, and to Systeme International (SI) units for radiation biology and protection. This was done to make it more usable for an international community of educators, and to align with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists' adoption of SI units in 2016. The ability of digital processing not only to generally compensate for scatter radiation, but to correct specific fog patterns in the image is more fully explained. Many crisp illustrations have been added, along with helpful tables and refinements to the text designed to make the entire presentation more student-friendly. Remarkable clarity and concise descriptions help the student with more complicated topics, especially in the digital domain. The practical limitations of digital features such as smoothing and edge enhancement are covered with their direct implications for clinical application. Several sections have been deleted, moved or reorganized to provide smoother transitions and development of the topics, with particular focus on the digital imaging chapters. Material on rescaling the digital image has been greatly strengthened, and new graphs have been added that make histogram analysis and errors mush easier to grasp. The comprehensiveness and detailed presentation of this book will deepen the collective conversation, challenge thinking, and give up-to-date tools that may be used today.
Research Methods in Radiology by
Research Methods in Radiology provides concise, practical insights on how to design clinical and experimental studies in diagnostic imaging. This unique resource encompasses contributions from leaders in academic radiology as well as top epidemiologists, biostatisticians, and librarians with vast multidisciplinary and radiology research experience. The material reflects years of expertise teaching core biostatistics in radiology principles to residents, fellows, radiologists, and epidemiologists. Given the vast amount of published information on research methodology and statistics in radiology, the authors' goal was to write a high-yield review and study tool rather than a comprehensive book. Key topics are succinctly addressed in each chapter, including measurements in radiology; decision analysis in radiology; and systemic reviews, evidence-based imaging, and knowledge translation. Online exercises related to each topic enable residents to prepare for radiology board examinations and research radiologists to apply knowledge to clinical studies. Key Highlights Introductory chapters on analysis of diagnostic tests, linear and logistic regression, meta-analysis, statistical inference, and economic evaluation provide easy-to-follow tutorials Each chapter includes learning objectives, basic concepts, supplementary tables, and ancillary online material Case studies with images, graphs, and tables highlight primary "take home" points Sample size calculations are illustrated for a wide range of research questions Code is included for use in R, free open-source software for statistical analysis This book is an indispensable review of research methodology for radiology students and residents. Practicing clinicians will also benefit from this precisely focused reference tool on clinical and experimental research.
Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age by
This Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age is specifically designed for in-classroom use with the series PowerPoint Slides for Radiography in the Digital Age. Together with the textbook itself and the Instructor Resources CD, these products complete a full package of educational resources tailored for radiography courses in the Physics of Radiography, Principles of Imaging, Digital Image Acquisition and Display, and Radiation Biology and Protection. The Workbook is organized throughout in a concise "fill-in-the-blank" format, focusing on key words to reinforce students' retention of the material. The wording and sequencing of questions closely mirrors the PowerPoint Slide series for each course. This Workbook strikes a perfect balance between allowing the student to concentrate on the lecture by doing minimal writing while still challenging the student to participate in classroom learning. An effective "note-taking" tool, it also doubles as a reinforcement tool for homework and individual study.
Diagnostic Imaging: Gynecology by
Covering the entire spectrum of this fast-changing field, Diagnostic Imaging: Gynecology, third edition, is an invaluable resource for general radiologists, specialized radiologists, gynecologists, and trainees-anyone who requires an easily accessible, highly visual reference on today's gynecologic imaging. Drs. Akram Shaaban, Douglas Rogers, Jeffrey Olpin, and their team of highly regarded experts provide up-to-date information on recent advances in technology and the understanding of pathologic entities to help you make informed decisions at the point of care. The text is lavishly illustrated, delineated, and referenced, making it a useful learning tool as well as a handy reference for daily practice. Serves as a one-stop resource for key concepts and information on gynecologic imaging, including a wealth of new material and content updates throughout Features more than 2,500 illustrations that illustrate the correlation between ultrasound (including 3D), sonohysterography, hysterosalpingography, MR, PET/CT, and gross pathology images, plus an additional 1,000 digital images online Features updates from cover to cover on uterine fibroids, endometriosis, and ovarian cysts/tumors; rare diagnoses; and a completely rewritten section on the pelvic floor Reflects updates to new TNM and WHO classifications, Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO) staging, and American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) TMM staging and prognostic groups Begins each section with a review of normal anatomy and variants featuring extensive full-color illustrations Uses bulleted, succinct text and highly templated chapters for quick comprehension of essential information at the point of care Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Diagnostic Imaging: Obstetrics by
Covering the entire spectrum of this fast-changing field, Diagnostic Imaging: Obstetrics, fourth edition, is an invaluable resource for radiologists, perinatologists, and trainees-anyone who requires an easily accessible, highly visual reference on today's obstetric imaging. Dr. Paula J. Woodward and a team of highly regarded experts provide up-to-date information on recent advances in technology and the understanding of fetal development and disease processes to help you make informed decisions at the point of care. The text is lavishly illustrated, delineated, and referenced, making it a useful learning tool as well as a handy reference for daily practice. Serves as a one-stop resource for key concepts and information on obstetric imaging, including a wealth of new material and content updates throughout Features more than 3,000 illustrations (grayscale, 3D, color, and pulsed-wave Doppler ultrasound; fetal MR; extensive clinical and/or pathologic correlation; and full-color illustrations) 1,300 additional digital images, and 175 new ultrasound video clips Features updates from cover to cover including new information on the genetic basis of fetal diseases, as well as new diagnoses and management protocols; additional and expanded differential diagnoses; and recent consensus guidelines and practice standards Covers dramatic new changes in technology, including recent innovations in 3D ultrasound and fetal MRI, as well as the earliest ultrasound findings seen with each condition due to improved ultrasound technology Reflects a multidisciplinary, collaborative approach to diagnosis, management, and treatment between radiologists, perinatologists, pediatricians, and surgeons Includes embryology and anatomy overview chapters, along with pertinent differential diagnoses for comprehensive coverage Uses bulleted, succinct text and highly templated chapters for quick comprehension of essential information at the point of care Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Diagnostic Ultrasound, 2-Volume Set by
Now fully updated with more than 2,000 new images, 200 new videos, and new content throughout, Diagnostic Ultrasound, 5th Edition, by Drs. Carol M. Rumack and Deborah Levine, remains the most comprehensive and authoritative ultrasound resource available. Spanning a wide range of medical specialties and practice settings, it provides complete, detailed information on the latest techniques for ultrasound imaging of the whole body; image-guided procedures; fetal, obstetric, and pediatric imaging; and much more. Up-to-date guidance from experts in the field keep you abreast of expanding applications of this versatile imaging modality and help you understand the "how" and "why" of ultrasound use and interpretation. Covers all aspects of diagnostic ultrasound with sections for Physics; Abdominal, Pelvic, Small Parts, Vascular, Obstetric, and Pediatric Sonography. Uses a straightforward writing style and extensive image panels with correlative findings. Features 5,000 images - more than 2,000 brand-new - including new 2D and 3D imaging as well as the use of contrast agents and elastography. Includes a new virtual chapter on artifacts with individually labelled images from throughout the book, displaying artifacts with descriptive legends by category and how they can be used in diagnosis or corrected for better quality imaging. Features more images and new uses for contrast agents in the liver, breast, and in pediatric applications. Includes current information on imaging more diagnostic dilemmas, such as Zika virus in the fetus and newborn. Includes 400 video clips showing real-time scanning of anatomy and pathology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
LANGE Q&a: Mammography Examination, Fifth Edition by
Pass the AART advanced level mammography certification exam with this peerless guide packed with 450+ practice questions, answer explanations, and high-quality visuals LANGE Q&A: Mammography, Fifth Edition makes the ARRT study process easy and efficient by focusing only on what readers really need to know. A complete study tool for anyone working towards ARRT certification, this peerless guide offers the information and insights you need to build your knowledge--and confidence--to ensure peak performance on exam day. High-quality illustrations, including radiographs, detail various types of lesions such as benign and malignant calcifications, enable image comparison, and illustrate pathology. Here's why LANGE Q&A: Mammography is the ultimate review for the ARRT Advance Level Mammography Certification Exam: * Updated to reflect the latest ARRT mammography exam blueprint * 250+ chapter-ending questions assure readers understand the material and are ready for test day * Illustrations and figures highlight/summarize important information * Covers the latest 3D digital technologies * Written by an experienced radiography instructor who knows exactly what it takes to pass
Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning and Procedures - 3-Volume Set by
Perfect your positioning skills with the leading radiography text and clinical reference! Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning & Procedures, 15th Edition helps you learn to position patients properly, set exposures, and produce the clear radiographs needed to make accurate diagnoses. Guidelines to both common and uncommon projections prepare you for every kind of patient encounter. Anatomy and positioning information is organized by bone group or organ system, and coverage of special imaging modalities includes CT, MRI, sonography, radiation therapy, and more. Written by noted educators Jeannean Hall Rollins, Bruce Long, and Tammy Curtis, Merrill's Atlas is not just the gold standard in imaging - it also prepares you for the ARRT exam! Comprehensive, full-color coverage of anatomy and positioning makes Merrill's Atlas the most in-depth text and reference available for radiography students and practitioners. Guidelines to each projection include a photograph of a properly positioned patient and information on patient position, part position, central ray angulation, collimation, KVp values, and evaluation criteria. Diagnostic-quality radiograph for each projection demonstrates the result the radiographer is trying to achieve. Coverage of common and unique positioning procedures includes chapters on trauma, surgical radiography, geriatrics/pediatrics, and bone densitometry, to help prepare you for the full scope of situations you will encounter. Numerous CT and MRI images enhance comprehension of cross-sectional anatomy and help in preparing for the Registry examination. Frequently requested projections are identified with a special icon to help you focus on what you need to know as an entry-level radiographer. Image receptor and collimation sizes plus other key information are provided for each relevant projection. Bulleted lists provide clear instructions on how to correctly position the patient and body part when performing procedures. Summary tables provide quick access to projection overviews, guides to anatomy, pathology tables for bone groups and body systems, and exposure technique charts. NEW! Updated content reflects the advances and continuing evolution of digital imaging technology. NEW! Revised positioning techniques reflect the latest American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) standards, and include photos of current digital imaging for the lower limb, scoliosis, pain management, and the swallowing dysfunction. NEW! Added digital radiographs provide greater contrast resolution for improved visualization of pertinent anatomy.
Radiographic Imaging and Exposure by
Master the radiography skills needed to produce high-quality images every time! With straightforward coverage of imaging principles, Radiographic Imaging and Exposure, 6th Edition describes exposure techniques and how to acquire, process, and display digital images. Not only does this book help you reduce the need for repeat images, it includes problem-solving guidelines for troubleshooting situations. Written by noted educator Terri L. Fauber, this book also provides the essential knowledge needed to pass the ARRT certification exam. Extensive digital radiography coverage explains how to acquire, process, and display digital images, along with important aspects of data management. Straightforward focus on imaging and exposure provides the knowledge you need to become a competent radiographer. Concise, easy-to-understand writing style makes the content easily accessible. Patient Protection Alerts highlight the variables that impact patient exposure and how radiographers can control them. Relationships sections summarize the connections between radiographic concepts, calling attention to how they relate to one another. Mathematical Applications sections show how mathematical concepts and formulas are applied in the clinical setting. Bulleted summaries at the ends of chapters offer a quick review of key concepts. Review questions are provided in every chapter, with answers in the back of the book. Convenient appendixes include Important Relationships, Mathematical Applications, and Patient Protection Alerts, providing a quick reference to important concepts and formulas. Glossary of key terms defines need-to-know terminology covered throughout the book. NEW! Coverage of digital imaging includes two chapters with expanded image processing and new content on data management. NEW! Updated content reflects the newest curriculum standards outlined by the ARRT and ASRT, and provides everything you need to prepare for the boards and for clinical success. NEW! Additional digital images are included in the digital imaging chapters, as well as the Scatter Control and Exposure Technique Selection chapters. NEW! Expanded coverage of digital fluoroscopy includes a thorough explanation of fluoroscopic operational features that impact the patient dose in Dynamic Imaging: Fluoroscopy chapter.
Radiologic Science for Technologists by
Develop the skills you need to produce diagnostic-quality medical images! Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 12th Edition provides a solid foundation in the concepts of medical imaging and digital radiography. Featuring hundreds of radiographs and illustrations, this comprehensive text helps you make informed decisions regarding technical factors, image quality, and radiation safety for both patients and providers. New to this edition are all-digital images and the latest radiation protection standards and units of measurement. Written by noted educator Stewart Carlyle Bushong, this text will prepare you for success on the ARRT® certification exam and in imaging practice. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Broad coverage of radiologic science topics includes radiologic physics, imaging, radiobiology, and radiation protection, with special topics including mammography, fluoroscopy, spiral computed tomography, and cardiovascular interventional procedures. Objectives, outlines, chapter introductions, and summaries organize information and emphasize the most important concepts in every chapter. Formulas, conversion tables, and abbreviations provide a quick reference for frequently used information, and math equations are always followed by sample problems with direct clinical application. Key terms are bolded and defined at first mention in the text, with each bolded term included in the expanded glossary. Math formulas are highlighted in special shaded boxes for quick reference. Penguin icons in shaded boxes represent important facts or bits of information that must be learned to understand the subject. End-of-chapter questions help students review the material with definition exercises, short-answer questions, and calculations. Student workbook reinforces understanding with worksheets that complement the content covered in the text. Available separately. NEW! Updated content reflects the newest curriculum standards outlined by the ARRT® and ASRT. NEW! All images are digital, following current radiology practice. NEW! Updated radiation protection standards and units of measurement are incorporated throughout the text. NEW! Streamlined physics and math sections focus on the essential content to ensure student technologists are prepared to take the ARRT® exam and have the background needed to perform well in the clinical environment. NEW! Increased alignment of chapter objectives with the ASRT core curriculum helps students focus on need-to-know content in preparation for the Registry exam and for clinical success.
