Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608
Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611
BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part A by
The BSAVA Formulary has been one of the Association's most trusted and highly valued publications for over a quarter of a century. The Formulary provides an alphabetical list of drugs available for veterinary use in dogs and cats. Several new drug monographs have been added to this edition, including additional chemotherapeutic agents. Other additions include updated information on antibacterial use and a flowchart designed to clarify the prescribing cascade. The Canine and Feline Formulary is accompanied by a range of useful Client Information Leaflets which BSAVA members can access via the BSAVA Library (bsavalibrary.com/CIL) or the BSAVA app - these leaflets have been updated alongside the new edition. Trusted information on drugs available for veterinary use in cats and dogs Revised throughout with the newest drugs added Additional chemotherapeutic agents Update on antibacterial use Prescribing cascade flowchart
A Guide to Oral Communication in Veterinary Medicine by
Good communication skills provide better clinical outcomes and help avoid minor as well as major mistakes. Approximately 60-80% of negligence claims against vets are related to poor communication, with new graduates especially vulnerable. Communication skills are a growing part of the curriculum in veterinary schools, recognising how fundamental clear communication is to good practice. A Guide to Oral Communication in Veterinary Medicine covers why communication skills are important, the structure of typical communications and suggested approaches, veterinary specific communication pathways, and sample scripts between vet and client. Scenarios covered include everyday communication, dealing with challenging situations, different species, different settings, and communication within the veterinary team. The aim is to instill confidence and competence, build professionalism, and avoid problems. Most current teaching is based on a toolbox approach developed from the human medicine model. However, there is no set standard for teaching methodology, which is why this is primarily a book for students, but also includes a section for educators to provide guidance in this nascent subject.
Veterinary Histology of Domestic Mammals and Birds by
This full color atlas of veterinary histology images with accompanying text covers domestic mammals and birds. It provides a peerless collection of diagrams, schematics, color micrographs, and electron microscope images, plus online access to a further 900 color images. The author presents information from both a structural and functional perspective. This applied approach highlights the importance of understanding histology as a basis for identifying disease. Translated from the German edition, Veterinary Histology of Domestic Mammals and Birds, 5th Edition is an excellent atlas for veterinary students and veterinary school libraries.
Use OneSearch to find books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Make sure you sign-in with your CWID to get the best user experience. The results list will give you basic information about each item, including availability. To find out more, click on Details. Details provides all the publication information for item, plus the item's subject headings, which are clickable links and may give you ideas for other searches to try. Details may also include a description and the table of contents.
Some keywords that might be useful for you to search are:
Veterinary medicine Animal Diseases
Veterinary small animal Veterinary large animal
Animal anatomy Animal husbandry
Pets diseases Veterinary surgery
Small animal practice
Books that are available to be checked out are located in the STACKS. Ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.
eBOOKS
Besides the eBooks in OneSearch described above, and the Reference books available from Credo Reference ( listed below right), there is a separate selection of eBooks from EBSCO that provides access to more than 180,000 titles from a broad range of subject and topic areas.
Here are some search keywords which might be helpful in looking for material in these eBooks:
Animal husbandry Veterinary medicine
Veterinary surgery Veterinary small animal
Veterinary medicine--practice
Careers Working with Animals by
Options for those interested in working with animals range from positions with no formal requirements--dog walkers, pet sitters, and pet groomers-to veterinarians and zoologists with advanced degrees. The veterinary field offers a wide range of opportunities, from veterinary assistant or technician, to veterinarians with years of training. Animal specialists include trainers responsible for preparing animals for stage and film, and animals that provide special care to the disabled. Animal shelters and animal rescue organizations are other ways to work with animals. Just some of the many careers examined in this volume include: Animal Control Workers Animal Trainer Farmer & Rancher Park Manager Pet Groomers Pet Sitters & Dog Walkers Veterinarian Wildlife Biologists Zoologist. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Cunningham's Textbook of Veterinary Physiology by
Learn how to understand normal body functions before learning about the mechanisms of veterinary disease. Cunningham's Textbook of Veterinary Physiology, 6th Edition approaches this vast subject in a practical, user-friendly way that helps you grasp key concepts and learn how they relate to clinical practice. From cell physiology to body system function to homeostasis and immune function, this comprehensive text provides the solid foundation needed before advancing in the veterinary curriculum. Expanded resources on the companion Evolve website include state-of-the-art 3D animations, practice tests, a glossary, and Clinical Correlations. Clinical Correlations boxes present case studies that illustrate how to apply physiology principles and concepts to the diagnosis and treatment of veterinary patients. Practice questions at the end of each chapter test your understanding of what you've just read and provide valuable review for exams. Key Points at the beginning of each chapter introduce new concepts and help you prepare for exams. Full-color format highlights helpful information and enhances learning with a wealth of illustrations that visually depict specific functions and conditions. NEW! Updated animations added that are relevant to content. NEW! New contributors lend their unique perspective and expertise to the content.
Exotic Animal Formulary by
The only drug formulary on the market created solely for the treatment of exotic animals, Exotic Animal Formulary, 5th Edition addresses the most common questions and medical situations encountered in clinical practice. Using clear, current recommendations on drugs, indications, and dosages, this text helps you find the information you need fast. Written by clinical and research veterinarian James Carpenter, it includes biological tables with details on therapies and diets, normal blood parameters of common species, venipuncture sites, differential diagnosis, and medical protocols for common conditions. This thoroughly revised edition includes coverage of antimicrobial, antifungal, and antiparasitic agents, along with new chapters on invertebrates, backyard poultry and waterfowl, compound medications, and more! Nearly 200 drug tables provide clear, current recommendations on drugs, indications, and dosages used in treating exotic animals. Biological tables provide details on therapies and diets, normal blood parameters of common species, venipunctures sites, and medical protocols for common conditions. More than 20 expert authors contribute to this edition. All drug information is reviewed for accuracy, ensuring that this reference remains authoritative and current. NEW! Chapter on backyard poultry and waterfowl, an increasingly popular pet in the U.S. UPDATED Chapter on wildlife includes new information on: considerations for developing a wildlife policy in private practice; recommendations for safe restraint of native wildlife; recommendations for meat withdrawal times in game species for select medications; agents used in wild mammal emergencies; and much more. NEW! Information details the euthanasia agents used in fish. NEW! Information on amphibians includes the blood collection sites and the selected disinfectants for equipment and cage furniture. NEW! Information on hedgehogs includes common differential diagnoses based on physical examination findings and confirmed zoonotic diseases carried by hedgehogs. NEW Information on the constant rate infusion (CRI) protocols used in rabbits. NEW! Information on the protein electrophoresis values for ferrets. NEW! Information on compounding pharmacies.
McCurnin's Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians by 
Medical Mathematics and Dosage Calculations for Veterinary Technicians by 
Textbook of veterinary internal medicine : diseases of the dog and the cat by 
Veterinary Medicine: a textbook of the diseases of cattle, horses, sheep, pigs, and goats by
Veterinary Medicine is a comprehensive textbook of the diseases of cattle, horses, sheep, pigs and goats that addresses the needs of both students and large/mixed animal veterinary practitioners. It has come to be extensively used as a reference by veterinarians around the world: it has attained international relevance, recognition and acceptance with several translations. For the new 11th edition Ken Hinchcliff and Peter Constable are joined as editors by Professor Stanley Done, a distinguished authority on the diseases of pigs, and by [a fourth European editor tbc], giving an editorial team of international scope and expertise. The new edition has been reorganized into two volumes for ease of use and offers many new features and topics. The text has been reviewed in its entirety and edited for concision while retaining the same level of detail and scope of coverage, and the references have been comprehensively updated since the previous edition. With this revised edition of Veterinary Medicine a companion App is also offered, which presentsin handy mobile format differential diagnoses, synopses of key points from the book, and tips and practical hints on therapeutics. When used in conjunction, the Veterinary Medicine book and App make an unbeatable reference that combines all the benefits of comprehensiveness with the convenience of portability . Comprehensive coverage includes information essential to any large-animal veterinarian, especially those working with horses, cattle, sheep, goats, or pigs. Coverage of diseases addresses major large-animal diseases of all countries, including foreign animal and emerging diseases. User-friendly format makes it easier to quickly absorb key information. Quick review/synopsis sections make important information on complex diseases easy to find. NEW! Convenient, easy-access format is organized by organ systems, and divides the content into two compact volumes with the same authoritative coverage. Nearly 200 new color photographs and line drawings are included in this edition. NEW full-color design improves navigation, clarifies subject headings, and includes more boxes, tables, and charts for faster reference. New Diseases Primarily Affecting the Reproductive System chapter is added. Updated and expanded chapter on pharmacotherapy lists therapeutic interventions and offers treatment boxes and principles of antibiotic use. Expanded sections on herd health include biosecurity and infection control, and valuable Strength of Evidence boxes. NEW or extensively revised sections include topics such as the Schmallenberg and Bluetongue viral epidemics of ruminants in Europe, Wesselbron disease in cattle, hypokalemia in adult cattle, equine multinodular pulmonary fibrosis, Hendra virus infection, porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome, torque teno virus, and numerous recently identified congenital and inherited disorders of large animals. Additional content is provided on lameness in cattle and the diseases of cervids.
The Feline Patient by
The classic quick reference to feline medicine with essential information on diseases, behavior, clinical procedures, and more Comprehensive yet accessible, this fully updated new edition of The Feline Patient offers more than 300 chapters covering all aspects of feline veterinary practice. The book arranges topics alphabetically within sections, allowing busy clinicians to rapidly find information on diagnostics and treatment options, all specific to the unique needs of cats. Omitting lengthy discussions on pathophysiology in favor of an emphasis on clinically relevant information for diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis, the book's approach is carefully designed for use in the clinical setting. The Feline Patient, Fifth Edition includes 30 additional chapters, along with new clinical pearls providing observations about diseases and procedures gleaned by Dr. Norsworthy over his forty-five years of clinical practice, which are called out in boxes. With clinically oriented images throughout, this edition reorganizes several sections in order to accommodate and better present the massive amount of important information. Includes chapters written by a global list of contributors for an international perspective Provides new clinical pearls providing useful advice for practice Presents an improved layout and page design for ease of navigation Offers a new companion website offering hundreds of additional images as well as video clips of clinical cases and procedures The Feline Patient, Fifth Edition is an essential resource for all veterinary practitioners who work with feline patients, as well as veterinary students.
Introduction to Animal and Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology by
A sound knowledge of anatomy and physiology is an essential basis for the effective clinical treatment of companion animals and farm animals alike. The fourth edition of this bestselling book continues to provide a comprehensive description of the anatomy and physiology of dogs and cats. The book builds on these foundations with detailed descriptions of exotic small species including birds, and domestic farm animals, including cows, sheep and pigs, as well as the horse. The text: Contains detailed descriptions of the systematic anatomy and physiology of a wide range of animal species. Covers clinical conditions and disease examples related to the individual body systems. Includes applied anatomy tips that relate theory to clinical practice. Is written by expert authors with a wealth of veterinary, animal science and teaching experience. Includes more clinical application examples and question and answer tests to reinforce student learning. Has been updated with more information for animal science students. This text provides an essential basis for all those embarking upon a veterinary, animal science or animal management career.
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary by
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary, 5th Edition includes the veterinary technical and scientific words and phrases you might encounter in practice. With well over 60,000 main and subentries including large animals, small animals, and exotics, presented in a user-friendly format, the fifth edition continues its legacy as the most comprehensive dictionary reference in the veterinary field. Completely revised and updated for today's veterinary team, it now includes an all-new companion Evolve site, which hosts an audio glossary of 1,200 common veterinary terms and an image collection featuring high-quality images from the book. The online site also includes printable appendices with essential reference information including conversion charts and blood groups of domestic animals. More than 60,000 main entries and subentries are included, making this the most comprehensive dictionary covering the whole range of veterinary medicine including large and small animals and exotic pets. Pronunciation of key terms is indicated by a phonetic respelling that appears in parentheses immediately following main entries. High-quality, color illustrations aid further understanding of important terminology. Color design and format help you find key information at a glance. Extensive appraisal, clarification, and focusing of entries to reflect current practice. Extensive contributions from internationally acknowledged expert consultants. UPDATED and NEW! Updated and all-new terminology from the latest research, including updated taxonomy in virology and bacteriology, ensures this invaluable reference is up-to-date. NEW! Updated images ensure you receive the most current and pertinent illustrations that identify and highlight specific terms. NEW! An all-new suite of online features including printable appendices with essential veterinary reference information, an image collection with 1,000 high-quality images, and an audio glossary with more than 1,200 common veterinary terms. NEW! A new co-editor and new expert contributors from around the world provide updates on the latest advances in the field of veterinary science.
