LibGuides: Resources for Foothill Faculty: Welcome!

Foothill College Library

LIBRARY HOURS:

Fall 2024 Hours
Mon – Thur 8 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Fri 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Sat & Sun Closed

Reference Hours

Fall 2024
Mon – Thur 8 a.m. – 7 p.m. (in-person & online)
Fri 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. (in-person & online)
Sat & Sun Closed

The Library is closed during all college holidays and breaks.

Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608

Ask a Librarian

Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611

Welcome!

This guide describes library resources and services that are available to faculty at Foothill College. Please use the tabs above to navigate to information regarding our resources and services. We look forward to working with you!

Activate Your Pass to the New York Times Website!

Foothill students, faculty, and staff now have access to The New York Times digital version including Cooking, Games, The Athletic, and Wirecutter.

View the following video to get started:

Please Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). Existing Paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the Foothill Library subscription.

New York Times This link opens in a new window

New Search Tools for Researchers!

The Foothill Library has subscribed to a couple of new search tools which make it easier to find scholarly sources including peer-reviewed articles and academic books.

LibKey Nomad Browser Extension

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides instant links to full text content for articles and e-books as you do research on the Web. Get one click access to library content from publisher websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and more. No matter where you are searching, the library is there!

Follow these steps:

Go to: https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/
Click on Get LibKey Nomad Now
Scroll down and select the download for your browser.
Once the installation is completed, click on Add Extension.
In the search box, type in Foothill College. This should be an option available.
You will see the words Library Selection Saved! When you search, look in the bottom left for the Provided by Foothill College.

Now when you search you should see Download PDF or View Complete Issue! if resources can be accessed through the library. For details, watch the following video:

LibKey.io

Another new search tool provided by Foothill Library is LibKey.io. LibKey.io will allow you to quickly search using a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (PubMed identifier). After confirming Foothll College as your organization, you will be taken to a screen that tells you if the source is available at the Foothill Library. It will also provide you with a link to download the full-text PDF of that source or a link to the article itself.

Featured Resources

Resources for Navigating Difficult Conversations: Explore curated resources to guide you through difficult conversations and that offer strategies for effective communication and conflict resolution.

Elections 2024: Your one-stop shop for information on the upcoming 2024 General Election.

ChatGPT LibGuide: Check out the library's new and evolving guide developed to highlight issues of interest to students and faculty including academic integrity and citation.

Faculty Guide to Streaming Videos: Answers to common questions about streaming video.

Anti-Racism Resources: Anti-racism is a lifelong commitment to doing the work, and that commitment can start with reading. See our Library Black Lives Matter resources lists.

New Online Resources:

Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
An online collection of classic and contemporary theatrical productions supplemented by video resources (insights from casts, creatives and academics to give context and enrich students’ learning) and written resources (essays, guides, and lesson plans written by and for educators that give an in-depth look at a play or topic, perfect for independent study or supporting your lesson prep).
MLA Handbook This link opens in a new window
MLA Handbook is a new digital product providing online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. Includes a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.

Announcements

Group Study Rooms: the library has 10 group study rooms. Please visit http://libcal.fhda.edu/reserve/studyrooms to reserve a room online.
Breakout study spaces: in addition to the Group Study Rooms, there are also 6 breakout spaces where students can work collaboratively.
Multimedia Classroom now available: Room 3504 is a 50-seat multimedia classroom equipped with 50 Macs and instructor station. Please contact Shawna Santiago at santiagoshawna@fhda.edu to reserve the room.
Online Library Instruction Request Form: You may now request a library orientation for your class by using this online form: https://fhda.libwizard.com/f/instructionsupport
Effective 3/28/18: Due to a reduction in staffing, ILL (borrowing and lending from other libraries) will be suspended until further notice. Please click on the Interlibrary Loan tab for more information.