LibGuides: Open Educational & Open Access Resources: Mixed Formats, Data Sets (various licenses)

Data Sets

Data Sets: data that can be freely used, reused and redistributed by anyone – subject only, at most, to the requirement to attribute and sharealike” (Open Data Handbook, Open Knowledge, 2012).

CERN Open Data Portal
CERN is providing access to their data in 2 ways: educational, using predesigned analytical tools, and research, using a virtual environment to do the data analysis
data.gov
A portal for government data, primarily federal, but also state and local
DataHub
A collection of open data and open content packages.
Data | The World Bank
A huge collection of data from the World Bank, from agriculture to urban development. Click the Data Catalog to see a list of datasets, tables, and topics.
Extract CSV data from PDF files with Tabula
Not a data source, but a data tool. Sometimes the only format available is PDF, and it looks like you'll have to type it all in by hand. Tabula to the rescue! (Note: Downloadable software which, once installed, opens a new web browser window. Data extraction happens in the browser.) Read more about it.
FAOSTAT
Agricultural and food related data from over 200 countries, as compiled by the United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization. The dataset is searchable and downloadable.
FigShare
Repository for all file formats and types of data--searchable, browsable, and taggable. Figshare allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow.
Molecular Biology Database Collection
open access databases for molecular biology data. Descriptions of the databases, including new databases and changes, are available in the annual Databases supplement to NAR.
Open States: discover politics in your state - Open States
re3data
A searchable collection of research data repositories. DOIs available for citing datasets.
UNdata
Data from many UN organizations.

Mixed Format Collections (a little of everything)

CalTech Collection of Open Digital Archives (CalTech CODA)
articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, theses, and dissertations from CalTech's faculty and students. There are over a dozen collections and more coming. CODA is particularly strong in engineering, but covers all subjects.
Harvard's Digital Collections
Free, public access to over six million digital objects - from ancient art to modern manuscripts and even audio/visual material.
ibilio
"A conservancy of freely available information, including software, music, literature, art, history, science, politics, and cultural studies".
Online Archive of California
historical collections of texts, letters, oral history transcripts, etc.
Open Folklore
A developing open access project in folklore studies. The project itself is still in development, but there are links to the existing online collections in each category.
This Day In History
Resources from PBS, Archives.org, and other archival sites.
USA.gov - Government publications
The CIA World FactBook and the Occupational Outlook Handbook are just a few of the many government documents available online. Other agencies have collections of historical material, such as the National Parks Service Parks History site. USA.gov will search the whole federal government. Science.gov searches just the science related agencies (NASA, EPA, FWS, NOAA, etc.)