Skip to Main Content

Using Libby & OverDrive Academic: Home

De Anza now uses OverDrive Academic, which is accessed through Libby! Enjoy eBooks and audiobooks on any device, anywhere!

Libby by Overdrive

Welcome to Libby, the new way to access eBooks and audiobooks at De Anza College Library

The De Anza College Library has adopted Libby (OverDrive Academic) as the main avenue to access eBooks and audiobooks.

This is a transition from our legacy collection & service, EBSCOhost eBook Collection. (EBSCOhost eBook Collection will still be available)

OverDrive Academic is accessed through Libby, the web portal and mobile app. Libby gives students, staff, and faculty an easy way to access and manage their eBooks and audiobooks checked out through the library. Libby is listed under the Articles, eBook & Video Databases list.

What is Libby?

OverDrive Academic (Libby) is a custom collection of eBooks and audiobooks. The collection is intended to reflect the library's physical collection, while offering more convenient and alternative ways to access our collection.

You'll find eBooks ranging from popular fiction, to graphic novels, to New York Times bestselling non-fiction available for checkout!

Libby has the unique ability to seamlessly merge collections from different libraries together in a smooth experience.

Do you have multiple library cards from libraries that support Libby? It's easy to add your De Anza College Library card!

Do you need help with Libby? Please look at Libby's official help page!

Check out Libby on iOS, Android, or in browser!

Getting Started

Getting Started

Download the app

Getting started with Libby is very easy. You can download the app for Android or iOS (Apple) devices.

  1. In Libby, follow the instructions and find the De Anza College Library.
  2. Sign in using MyPortal
  3. Click here for instructions on how to use the mobile app (with Android examples)
Access Libby using your browser
  1. View the Libby app in your browser
  2. Sign in using your MyPortal credentials
  3. Click here for instructions on how to use Libby's desktop experience

eBooks and Audiobooks can be checked out for 14 days.

You can borrow 3 items at a time and place 3 holds at a time.