Skip to Main Content

Asian & Pacific Islander Heritage Month: INTRODUCTION TO API

In celebration of Asians and Pacific Islanders, this guide lists campus events, books, articles and websites on Asian Pacific Islanders.

Foothill College API Clubs


Below are Foothill campus clubs that may be of interest. Visit the Associated Students of Foothill College (ASFC) Club Page for a complete list of Foothill campus clubs and additional information on campus clubs.

Anime Club
Asian Pacific Islander Club
Foothill Chinese Students and Scholars Club

Foothill Indonesian Club
Foothill Taiwanese Association

Hong Kong Student Union
International Aid Club
International Student Connection
Japanese Culture Club
Student Association of Malaysia & Singapore

United Nations Club


History of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month


Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month is a national celebration to pay tribute to the contributions generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders have made to American history, society and culture. 

Like most commemorative months, Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month originated in a congressional bill.  In June 1977, Representatives Fran Horton of New York and Norman Y. Mineta of California introduced a House resolution that called upon the president to proclaim the first ten days of May as Asian-Pacific Heritage Week.  The following month, senators Daniel Inouye and Spark Matsunaga introduced a similar bill in the Senate.  Both were passed.  On October 5, 1978, President Jimmy Carter signed a Joint Resolution designating the annual celebration.  Twelve years later, President George H.W. Bush signed an extension makiing the week-long celebration into a month-long celebration.  In 1992, the official designation of May as Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month was signed into law.

Information and graphics  from Library of Congress